Inside The Bay: a conversation with Iconic 8-time Emmy winning Executive Producer Wendy Riche!

Rock Russell
6 min readMar 13, 2023

--

8 time Emmy winning producer Wendy Riche (photo courtesy of LANY Entertainment)

Wendy Riche has been producing award winning critically acclaimed television in both daytime and primetime television for over four decades; including Who Will Love My Children, Port Charles, General Hospital, and The Bay. In celebration of The Bay’s season 7 release on Tubi, we had the chance to chat with Wendy and talk about The Bay, her legendary career, and some of her favorite things.

What is your favorite part about being an Executive Producer?

The creative collaborative process always inspires me. I was fortunate to enjoy the eight week sleep away camp experience every summer during my childhood. Living with different people, sharing similar experiences, learning the discipline of being in a group that fostered individual growth and excellence gave me a real understanding and appreciation of teamwork. As an Executive Producer, I value the opportunity of working together with so many gifted people whose individual talents contribute to the same goal with one vision shared by all.

What do you believe is the most important quality to have as an Executive Producer?

Kindness and trust. When people feel good about their contribution, they deliver their best and everyone and the show benefits. I try to balance my attention on the big picture and the details while supporting and trusting my collaborators and have some fun during the process. Having fun makes, a difference to everyone who’s working so hard.

What made you want to become a Producer?

I loved being involved in the creative process. And that led me to producing. When I was a secretary at ABC Children’s Programming, I was looking for a story for our Afterschool Specials and discovered the book, “My Dad Lives In A Downtown Hotel” about a family separated by divorce. I was thrilled when ABC made it. From that moment on, I’ve never stopped thinking about and looking for good stories to tell that had purpose and would affect peoples’ lives.

What do you do when you’re not Producing?

Funny question because I’m always thinking about and exploring stories to tell so I never think of myself as not producing. However, when not in production, I have more precious time with my family, for baking and for gardening.

Do you have any behind-the-scene stories you can share with us from The Bay?

Some of my happiest times on The Bay are sitting next to Gregori watching the actors on the monitor while the scene is being shot and when the scene is over, nodding to each other knowing that it all came together thanks to the magic the actors bring to their characters and the story.

The other ridiculously fun thing is that Gregori is a big practical joker and I tend to take things literally…so whether in production or when we are writing, he tries to trick me and if I catch it, which is more and more thank goodness, I get to call “April Fools” before he does. Silly but fun moments.

The Bay Emmy winning Executive Producing Team Gregori J. Martin, Wendy Riche, Kristos Andrews

What do you want the audience to take away from season 7 of The Bay?

In the aftermath of a horrific event, our characters are catapulted into an emotional journey of life and death and propelled into a wild adventure to the beautiful Island of Puerto Rico. Gregori and I always want the audience to get to know the characters a little bit more each season so that they will have to return to find out what happens to them next.

In 1983 you produced one of the most beautiful films ever made Who Will Love My Children starring Ann-Margret in her Emmy nominated and Golden Globe winning performance. It is nothing short of spectacular and everyone who has ever seen it, talks about the profound emotional impact it had on them, showing the depth of a mother’s love for her children. You received well deserved Primetime Emmy and Golden Globe nominations for producing it (should have won, who remembers Special Bulletin?). With the 40th Anniversary of the release of Who Will Love My Children this month, are there any plans to release the film VOD? Who do we need to call or petition?

Thank you so much. I’m very proud of the film Paula Levenback Rudnick and I produced starring the divine Ann Margret. One of the greatest rewards was bringing the real Fray siblings back together after many years of separation.

ABC owns the film and all release decisions are up to them. I just googled it and found it on Gloria.tv, and you tube has some options.

Over the years you have continued to produce strong character driven stories that give actors such deep material to work with. How do you know when the story is ready?

While everyone’s story has merit, not all are structured for compelling storytelling. For me, it really depends on the complexity of the character and the twists, surprises and the discoveries about themselves they experience in their journey.

During your time as Executive Producer at General Hospital from 1992–2001 the series was re-invigorated and won the Emmy for Outstanding Daytime Drama Series, a record five (5) times in seven (7) years, a record that still stands. How were you able to create-develop some of the best storylines in the history of daytime during that time (introductions of Sunny and Carly, BJ’s heart transplant, Robin and Stone HIV storyline, Monica’s cancer, Nurses Ball, the return of Luke and Laura, and much more?

Teamwork — none of it is done alone. I am so fortunate to have worked with so many great actors, producers, writers, directors, crew. When I arrived, General Hospitals characters were rich with history and there was so much to draw from and jump off to. It was a wonderful time for all of us who worked together in the 1990’s… the heart and soul of the GH Family from that decade remains profoundly connected with pride and love.

What is your favorite city?

I LOVE LA:

“From the South Bay to the Valley
From the West Side to the East Side
Everybody’s very happy
’Cause the sun is shining all the time
Looks like another perfect day

I love L.A. (we love it)”-Randy Newman

What is your favorite food?

My cooking. After that, anything chicken, Italian, Thai, Indian, Sushi, Greek, Chinese, Ukrainian plov…basically, I eat everything . And I love Gregori’s Puerto Rican Thanksgiving Turkey and Pastelon Dinner — at the top of the list!

What is your favorite candy bar?

Dark chocolate.

What is your favorite beverage?

Water, coffee, wine.

What is your favorite season?

I love all seasons and all weather but having grown up in New York, I ‘ve now lived in LA most of my life and definitely prefer the warmer climate.

What is your favorite color?

I love all colors. Each brings a special feeling, a moment, a memory. Our home is filled with warm colors, with lots of green plants and colorful orchids which I love to grow. I love basic and simple for clothing, wearing mainly black and white.

To see some of Wendy’s amazing work as an Executive Producer and Co-Writer with Gregori J. Martin you can now #BingeTheBay on Tubi.

--

--