“Play-2-Earn” Games are improving the world.

Continuum World
3 min readAug 13, 2021

--

Like many of you, when I was younger I was an idealist. I used to want to improve the world and make it a better place. Later on I realised that the best way for that to happen was to first improve myself, and as you can imagine, that became a never-ending endeavour.

On many occasions, I have thought that something should exist that would allow people from developing countries to work or provide services online and allow them to generate wealth to support their families and dreams.

When Crowdsourcing and Freelancing platforms arrived I thought that this was what I was imagining. However, those freelancing platforms were never massive, because they required an investment of skills and equipment.

But….I could have never imagined that the solution that I was envisioning could come from gaming. Gaming! What a positive utopia the “Play to Earn” is.

And yet, it is already happening!

The rapid growth and adoption of games like Axie Infinity during this year is allowing hundreds of thousands to generate substantial income. More than they could generate in many countries with available jobs even for fresh graduates.

According to “World In Data” up to 53% of the world population makes between 60$ to 300$ per month. Axie scholars are currently making way more than that by playing a game from their smartphone.

It makes sense that cryptocurrencies go hand in hand with this, as they are the native digital means of exchange. This could not have happened without the revolution in cryptocurrencies.

What does this mean for the world? I have no doubt that the current trend of Play to Earn games is going to become larger and that the world is going to be a better place, which is what we should all hope for. Watching the documentary about Axie in Philippines and the numerous testimonials about the game one can already see the positive impact it is making.

What does this mean for me and other entrepreneurs? I believe that there is no better time to be in the field of GameFi (play to earn games industry) since it is just starting and most probably will become massive in the coming years.

Lucky for me I started developing games with cryptocurrencies back in 2018 with my partner Daniel that run a games studio and had developed over 25 games during the last decade. We created a studio in Singapore called Playchain and we will be announcing our first release next week. Stay tuned!! (follow @continuumworld ) I could not be more excited about it.

If we can help millions of people while creating a sustainable company, perhaps the idealism of my youth was not naive after all.

Continuum World

--

--