Julian Hernández
2 min readAug 11, 2018

--

The fact that a system is “the best we have” doesn’t mean is free from criticism. The fact is that mertitocracy in its current state favors wealth and it helps people move that wealth through generation by different means. So its not the best the ones that get to the top but the ones that began with a headstart.

Again, not in every case but in a great majority of them. I’m sure you can tell me about a friend that began from nothing an now is well off.

Second, I put the example of the working mother and the construction worker because in your previous answer you said people were lazy, phisically and mentally, and thats why they called meritocracy a lie. Let me quote that:

“ Meritocracy is a lie” is a lie designed by people whose minds are full of excuses and bodies are too lazy to do the work.”

People are not lazy, they are overworking themselves with several jobs, striving to get better, to make ends meet. There are students in the Bronx that perform as well as students in the richest schools in NYC nevertheless they dont have the same chances.

The real people that want to believe the lie of meritocracy are the ones in those richest schools they want to believe the got where they are with merit alone, with the sweat of their brow and the wit in their brain. They are happy to ignore the golden carriage because it suits them.

I know that because Im one of them, I went to the best schools and studied in one of the best universities in my country. I believed that me being there was proof enough of my merit and abilities. I realized thats not the case, I’ve been lucky to be born on a family that can provide and that gave me a headstart in life. I’m not naive enough now to think that I did this by myself I was standing in the shoulders of the people that came before me.

For a real meritocracy to work, kids should have all the same education and the same benefits without any help from their parents wealth or lack thereof. Obviously that idea is kind of crazy and has several issues.

--

--