Let Me Be High In Peace

Cordeiro Of The Pen
2 min readAug 29, 2022

--

A coming of age poem about the ideal day off

Picture: Original Design by @LilXBun

Weed is tight
That’s what my friends say
My favorite thing is getting high in the morning on a Wednesday
If you heard it’s bad for you I promise it’s just hearsay
I can guarantee if I don’t get mine it’s gonna be a weird day

Don’t sit so close to my blunt
I’m paranoid
I’m scared your gonna try and light too early like a freakazoid
You gonna get us in an altercation that we can’t avoid

There’s a time and place for everything
I’m waiting for some food cause I just ordered in
Got my glass of green juice mixed with hemp and collagen
Get high and throw on Eddy Murphey I’ll be hollerin’

That’s the game plan
So don’t be too hasty hold your brakes man
To light it now would be such a waste fam
I’m tryna set the vibe so we can go to space land

Space Land
Space Land
Space Land
Space Land

Now we’re good to go
Sit your ass on the couch put your feet on the floor
The vibe is right so pass me the dutchy
Let’s get this show on the road cause I’m motherfucking hungry

MMMM I got me some oxtails
This is my favorite meal a love that never fails
The situations set ooh this is the best
And the rest I’ll get after this will be the best

Pass the Girl Scout Cookies let’s get started
I’ll do the honors I’m excited I got everything where I want it
(Inhale) Ahhh
This feeling is so superb
All you had to do was trust me I gave you my word

*Passes blunt*

You gotta try this
Look at you I know you can’t help but be excited
Go head an take that extra puff you don’t even have to fight it
There’s plenty more weed I’ll roll another and ignite it

And today we’re gonna get high

If we were in school then we’d be taking a smoke day
We’re grown but we’ll still treat it like a snow day
This is a stress-free-any-work-is-a-joke day
And if our bosses saw us they’d think we must be joking

And we are

I’m high and everything’s funny
And I ain’t tryna hear it cause I make my own money
I’m a boss and this is well deserved
Any s’ponsibilities today will get curved

I like to get high
I want to be high
Just let me be high
In peace

I like to get high
I want to be high
Just let me be high
In peace

I like to get high
I want to be high
Just let me be high
In peace

--

--