40 Contemplations for Lent — Day 21: Alcohol

Coriander Wolfgang Rainbeaux
3 min readMar 22, 2023

--

For Lent this year, I’m giving up hiding myself from… well, myself! I’m having dialogues with my inner children about each topic from this link.

Cori: I don’t really drink alcohol, but I used to drink, mostly hard cider.

H.A.: It feels amusing that this one landed on St. Patrick’s Day, a day in the U.S. known for alcohol consumption.

Cori: Right? So many people use it as an excuse to drink excessively. I’m not judging, although it sure does sound like it. I just like it for the folk music. The dancing. The camaraderie!

Photo by Magdalena Smolnicka on Unsplash

H.A.: I used to play Irish gigs in college with one of my professors. It was so much fun. I was only 19, but I didn’t drink during my gigs. I didn’t want anyone to get into trouble.

Cori: Alcohol is good for a lot of things. It’s the abuse that’s trouble. But, I can understand that too. People just want to feel good and happy. Or not feel their pain at least.

H.A.: I was such a lightweight. I’d have one beer, one cosmopolitan, one cider and fall asleep. LOL.

Cori: What was your favorite drink of all time?

H.A.: Cosmopolitans. You?

Cori: It was a tie between a Swedish Rekorderlig and British Strongbow cider.

H.A.: Those were both delicious.

Cori: You remember when your friends would offload the Miller High Life on you? *giggles*

H.A.: Mmmhm. I didn’t really mind though.

Cori: Have you ever actually HAD a green beer?

H.A.: Nope! It looks pretty gross actually. Have you?

Cori: Right? It looks disgusting! I have not either.

H.A.: When’s the last time you drank?

Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Cori: Aside from some golden raisins that I soaked in gin, I haven’t had any alcohol since New Year’s Eve 2020. I had some Kraken spiced rum and coke. My pandemic vice was soda until my A1C went up. I switched to diet and it went back down. I’m trying to get off the diet soda now. Back to water!

H.A.: My favorite soda is Mountain Dew. This mocktail recipe sounds good — The Dew Drop.

Cori: We could try it sometime.

H.A.: Really? That would be fun!

Cori: I don’t really even drink juice any more. Too sweet. It’s whole fruits for me. Mostly berries.

H.A.: You used to put dried lemon, lime or grapefruit powder in your water.

Cori: I still have some lime powder.

H.A.: I think one of the other reasons people drink on St. Patty’s Day is because they don’t want to admit that they like bagpipes and accordions when they’re sober.

Cori: *cracks up* Say what?!?!?!

H.A.: Aside from ourselves, and maybe the Weird Al crowd, I don’t know too many people who have such an out loud and proud love of bagpipes and accordions as you do! Maybe the Lawrence Welk crowd.

Cori: OMG stop giving out all of our secrets!

H.A.: The Lennon sisters were dreamy.

Cori: They still are!

H.A.: Jo Ann Castle could tear the roof off an auditorium with her piano playing!

Cori: She sure could. And Arthur Duncan could start a fire with his tap shoes! He was magic.

H.A.: I’m going to dream tonight about bagpipers and what they wear under their kilts.

Photo by Johnny Cohen on Unsplash

--

--