40 Contemplations for Lent — Day 23: Meat

Coriander Wolfgang Rainbeaux
3 min readMar 27, 2023

--

For Lent this year, I’m giving up hiding myself from… well, myself! I’m having dialogues with my inner children about each topic from this link.

Photo by Victoria Shes on Unsplash

Cori: Meat is delicious.

Leo: I could eat.

Cori: Meat is also music!

Leo: There’s a blood that’s flowin’ through the feeling, with a knife to open up the sky’s veins.”

Cori: Some people say “Meat is Murder.

Leo: For all intents and purposes, it is. I won’t deny it.

Cori: *sighs* I feel really bad for eating meat after listening to that song. Poor animals.

Leo: I eat whatever is available.

Cori: I hear organs are the most nutritious part.

Leo: *thinks* They are tasty. Yes.

Cori: The Hour of the Wolf is near.

Leo: 3 am is when creatures come out to play.

wolfie: *pops in* did someone mention wolfie?!?

Cori: Not exactly, wolfie. We are discussing meat, music, and murder.

wolfie: *states in a cute, young, but incredulous voice* MURDER?!?!

Cori: *pounces towards wolfie* All the better to eat you, my dear!

wolfie: *eeps and scurries out of the room*

Leo: I forget you have that Scandinavian sense of humor. Nordic noir.

Cori: It’s hard to find people with the same sense of humor.

Leo: “In this lifetime, you got my human gets me blues”

Cori: Ah, Captain Beefheart. The cacaphony.

Leo: Indeed. This is meaty music.

Cori: Are you feeling courageous?

Leo: I could roar.

Photo by Arleen wiese on Unsplash

Cori: Meatloaf is one of my comfort foods.

Leo: “I would do anything for love, but I won’t eat that.”

Cori: *laughs* That’s not the right lyric.

Leo: I would rather eat steak tartare.

Cori: I’ll let you have that one. I’ll take some sushi though. Salmon or tuna, please.

Leo: I guess I’d take some salmon, too.

Cori: Salmon patties are comfort foods, sometimes. I haven’t quite mastered the cream sauce my dad would make.

Leo: Mrrrrow, I’ll take a bowl of cream. Yes please.

Cori: With black curtains by the station?

Leo: *cracks a smile finally* Ok, you got me with that one.

Cori: Thank you, thank you, I’ll be here until the page runs out. Where’s my meatloaf recipe?

Leo: On a hot summer night, would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?”

wolfie: wait wait wait, what’s this about wolfie with roses?

Photo by Cam Adams on Unsplash

Leo: Pipe down, kid. It’s just a Meat Loaf song!

--

--