40 Contemplations for Lent — Day 5: Online Shopping

Coriander Wolfgang Rainbeaux
4 min readFeb 28, 2023

--

For Lent this year, I’m giving up hiding myself from… well, myself! I’m having dialogues with my inner children about each topic from this link. Yesterday, the conversation was about reading. It went kind of deep there for a couple of moments, and Sin City is not appropriate for children!

Cori: Today’s topic is online shopping. Something I know a lot about. I learned recently that most people load up their Amazon cart and save things until later. Like, it’s a thing that people do! I thought it was just me.

Dark Violet: *rolls her eyes*

Cori: *rolls Dark Violet’s eyes back to her*

Photo by Paul Felberbauer on Unsplash

Dark Violet: can i order something from Hot Topic?

Cori: You know, Hot Topic is not Punk Rock.

Dark Violet: ohmygawd, whyyyyyyy are you so embarrassing?!?!?!

Cori: *giggles* Because I can.

Dark Violet: *sighs dramatically* So, Hot Topic? Yes or no?

Cori: You can get ONE SMALL THING.

Dark Violet: define small.

Cori: Smol.

Dark Violet: how do you even spell that?

Cori: It’s spelled “I guess you don’t want anything from Hot Topic.”

Dark Violet: good grief.

Cori: Let’s look at the website together.

Dark Violet: Okay. *shares her iPad with Cori*

Cori: HELLO KITTY!!!!

Dark Violet: *pulls her hood up and over her head so you can’t see her face*

Cori: Wow, there’s a lot of pastel on here.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Dark Violet: Cori… *sighs and scrolls* Oh, here’s a tshirt for you.

Cori: SHENANIGANS!!! Yessss…

Dark Violet: i knew you’d like it.

Cori: Oh wow, look at all the vinyl they have!

Photo by Eric Krull on Unsplash

Dark Violet: yeah, maybe i’ll get one. They have The Cure’s Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me. You’d like that, too. We could share.

Cori: That’s very thoughtful of you. You mean, we agree on something? I’m shocked.

Dark Violet: cringe.

Cori: Do they have any Lawrence Welk? *giggles*

Dark Violet: Lawrence Who? *looks confused*

Cori: Nevermind. Where else should we shop online?

Dark Violet: what about Vampire Freaks or Die with your Boots on?

Cori: *blinks* Say what? *googles* OMG I need these PUMPKIN SHOES!

Dark Violet: No, you really do not! *groans* Hey, I thought I was doing the shopping!

Cori: Hay is for horses.

Dark Violet: Ok, grandpa.

Photo by Victor Malyushev on Unsplash

Cori: Oooh, this beret will go with my new shoes!

Dark Violet: Settle.

Cori: Ok, ok, what does my gothic princess want, Violet?

Dark Violet: I’m not goth! I’m emo! *grimaces exasperatedly*

Cori: You are the most goth goth I’ve ever gothed.

Dark Violet: *rolls her eyes* Cor-eeeeeeeeee… *growls*

Photo by Elyas Pasban on Unsplash

Cori: I would tell you I had been thinking about getting my cheek pierced, but that would have been a direct quote from my dad after I got my nose pierced the first time. *smiles, remembering* Ok, what do you want, Emo Violet?

Dark Violet: *opens the women’s dresses page* This one is quite…

Cori: *interrupts abruptly and loudly* Oh my goodness, “Stripe O Negative Dress!!!” *laughs so hard, they start crying*

Dark Violet: *looks confused* Why is that so funny?

Cori: Stripe O Negative, Type O Negative. Like the band?

Dark Violet: *blinks*

Cori: *mumbles to themselves something about feeling old* You know, Cinnamon Girl? Wolf Moon? They had a sound unlike any other band.

Dark Violet: *googles Type O Negative*

Cori: I saw them live in concert in Wichita in 1995 and got second-hand high. I couldn’t stop giggling and asking for snacks on the way home. My friends were so annoyed with me.

Dark Violet: *looks at Cori, jaw dropped*

Cori: *decides not to mention the Playgirl issue* This is a pretty good article from Pitchfork Magazine on the band, and the ways in which the singer was problematic AF. I’ll let you do more research on the topic yourself.

Dark Violet: *is still sitting there with a dropped jaw*

Cori: How about this violet bat tie? A pop of color for your mostly black wardrobe?

Dark Violet: *sighs* Just say it. You know you want to.

Cori: *starts giggling and can’t stop*

Dark Violet: I’ll say it for you. Then I’d be turning violet, Violet. *rolls her eyes again*

Cori: *continues giggling maniacally* Yes! Hahahaha. You’re turning violet, Violet! Hahahahahahaha.

Dark Violet: I found a pin to match your new shoes and beret.

Cori: *still giggles but is getting a modicum of control* Wow, thanks Violet.

Dark Violet: No problem.

Cori: How about this dress for you? It has POCKETS!!!

Dark Violet: That’s perfect. Pockets are everything.

Photo by Hermes Rivera on Unsplash

--

--