Part of the problem. (a poem by Sam Cottle).

Sam Cottle
1 min readJul 6, 2023

--

The wheel of passion girds all the brightness of the Earth. And mass media moans on groaning out existential threat here, there, everywhere; all is doom and chaos. The slugs on my wall don’t seem to mind. They’re happy, content in their own transient struggles.

A girl I once knew accuses the slugs of being homeless because, unlike snails, they do not have shells. And I sympathise with that. Or, part of me does. The part that’s been homeless sitting on a camp bed in a room shared with other stinking men, feeling like one of those

slugs, but still not too desperate or alone; still trying to reach the roof of the building (as the slugs often used to do); still going for something and to be someone. Not that this matters. This is only being churned out online in the hope of a few likes, a whiff of approval;

it passes like rain in the bitter pile of human musing, and miseries, turned like the spin of the void into something that does me good. i don’t write for you. i write selfishly. you’re the interloper looking in. the curious looking in over my shoulder. we’re all part of the problem.

--

--

Sam Cottle

UK writer and stand-up comic. Also entrepreneur. My latest venture is Astrodyne Rocketjet, a company aiming to build the world's first space elevator.