Studying the Bible using AI

Daniel Coulter
2 min readJan 7, 2024

--

A man standing on the Bible with pictures of various Bible stories creating a hall that he is facing. There is a bright light at the end of the hallway.
Generated with AI using Microsoft’s Image Creator from Designer ∙ January 7, 2024 at 2:32 PM

Hello all, I am excited to start a journey through the Bible using some of the power of Artificial Intelligence (AI). I am excited that I will be using AI tools to help me study the Bible. With the help of AI powered tools like Microsoft’s Copilot, I can save time by doing a deep dive into the Bible and can use these tools to provide a foundation for further study and research. I’m looking forward to exploring how AI can help me grow in my faith and provide a running commentary of my exploration for my kids. At the same time, it will help me learn how to refine prompts and get more familiar with AI.

Study

With several guys from our church, I am trying to go through the Bible in a year. So I plan to leverage a few prompts I’ve been playing with using Microsoft Copilot to give a foundation for each chapter. Some of the information will be repetitive as the chapters flow into each other. I will also look to include some more random questions that I use to dig into the chapters.

Starting Prompt

My starting prompt:
I am a Christian of the Pronomian tradition. I use the Historical Grammatical Hermeneutic when studying the Bible. I am studying the Biblical book of Genesis, chapter 21. Please provide the following:

1. What are the key verses from these chapters and why were they selected.
2. Does this passage introduce any new concepts to the Bible
3. Provide the key terms for this section of scripture.
a. Are there any play on words from this passage from the original Hebrew it was written in
b. Inform me of any words that don’t translate well
c. Inform me of any other translation issues d. Are there any major disagreements between translators for this passage?
4. Provide a title for each chapter and exegete each chapter and include any applicable cross references.
5. Highlight how we see Jesus in this passage
6. What are some practical lessons we should learn from this passage?

AI Prompt Updates

From time to time, I may write some articles on how and why I am changing the prompt. I am interested in how fine tuning the language makes a difference in the prompt engineering.

Thanks for coming on my journey with me. Documenting this in Medium seemed like a good way to go since there doesn’t appear to be much Bible related content here, plus it gives me an opportunity to keep all the study notes online.

--

--