Osmos Academy, Design Process

Week 10 Project
3 min readApr 2, 2017

--

It’s easy to say that my design greatly evolved from when this project first began.

Starting out, I tried to find an easy to use survey for users already interested in an Osmos Academy (Osmos) visit. So, why would you be interested in Osmos? Osmos utilizes emerging technology to create a positive social impact on society. The current initiative of focus is Virtual Reality (VR) Passport, where VR is used to help individuals (usually patients in hospitals) escape their reality, have fun, or learn more about new technology.

In order to ensure each interaction with Osmos is as strong, and impactful as possible, the idea of creating an easy-to-use survey jumped to mind. This survey would allow Osmos to gain insightful information about the end user prior to each visit to ensure the proper equipment & personnel are present.

The process focused on how to create the easiest possible experience to create the survey while incorporating Osmos Academies unique interface.

This insight of conducting more comprehensive surveys began with conducting in-person interviews (needfinding) while pushing VR experiences with users.

At these experiences, the AHA moment came when I noticed there was an opportunity to personalize the experiences, and hence the need to gather information in a survey!

I then mapped out the design utilizing a prototype:

I then created an initial mockup (for an iPad) with PPT:

From here, I moved the process into InVision, where I was able to create an interactive interface controlled by the end user. After many iterations, I was able to arrive at the below:

I would not have been able to have arrived at this point without many rounds of revisions, and testing, as can be found below!

Overall, engaging in this process has been a eye-opening. I know have a thorough understanding of the necessary stages required in order to make a functional prototype.

--

--