The Lighthouse Glasgow

Courtney Whyte
3 min readNov 20, 2018

--

This trip I was exited for as it was somewhere I am familiar with and have previously been before. The lighthouse is in the heart of Glasgow Town Centre nearby a lot of different shops and pubs. The inside is filled with a variety of different cultural backgrounds and objects. The spiral stair case leads you to a stunning view of Glasgow.

Inside there are a set of ever lasting stairs that lead to a fantastic view of Glasgow!
Interior/Architectural Style

I found this very interesting as its something I am very passionate about. The way that each model was presented and structured was very detailed and precise. I enjoyed walking around looking at the fine detail displayed throughout each individual building. I found out about who it was by and it was Ozturk Model Makers. They tried to show how old and new buildings work together. And included the water tank in the first photograph. They created a series of different projects and I selected a few that really intrigued me. These just made me stop and take a good look.

Small Stool

I was also intrigued with this stool as its so simple yet beautiful with its marble toped seat. The way that it was made was very clear and practical. The plastic type was HDPE. And this was the first stool made Weighing only 2kg (909 bottle caps!) The wood used for the seating is stormed peeled beech wood with a Danish oil finishing.

Graphic Posters

Another part of this museum was the section full of graphic designed posters and screen prints. I personally thought they showed depth and brought something more interesting and intriguing to the museum. I loved the way that they where displayed and laid out onto the walls. Some where coloured others where black and white with multiple underlayers creating a visual and textural appearance that i found very satisfying.

--

--