Matt Cowey
2 min readFeb 18, 2018

--

1B Google yourself:

I cannot stress how important it is to have privacy settings on all your active social media platforms. Without privacy settings you might as well have a helicopter follow you around every minute of the day. The amount of information about yourself on social Medias and the internet is more than you would think. People know what events you’re going to, what interests you have, where you have been and on top of this employers are now trying to find more information about you before employing you. Personally, I don’t fancy them seeing a picture of me after a night in the Public house.

After using the SALT.agency tool to google myself, I could only find links to each Social media platform I had which was active. Once clicking on them, it gave the viewer limited options of what they could see. For example, my Facebook, twitter and Instagram was limited to my profile picture and small pieces of information which couldn’t affect me.

After seeing the results from each search option on the SALT.agency, luckily other similar and more popular names showed up before mine. I decided to google myself manually to see if there was a difference, surprisingly there was a lot more information about me from this search. I don’t use LinkedIn but my account was still active with no information or pictures of me on there. I also found a website (www.192.com) which had information about where I lived which was quite a shock.

I think it would be interesting if you could see how many people search for your name and who has searched for your name. Similar to how LinkedIn works, where you can see exactly who has been looking at your profile.

--

--