The Quiet

Poetry

Photo by the Author

I need this…
the Quiet
sound of water
flowing, a burbling

sparkle rocks, roughness
in my hand a glittering
stone

Birds! a visiting bee

my stomach growls
letting the world know
I am here

I am Alive!

I need this…
warm cushions cradling
my back, against my
thighs

the warmth of other suns
covering me in golden light

Love festoons! this place
where we gather, a heavenly
respite, alone, together

a vast knowingness beyond
ourselves, our Self

a Burst! of rosemary underneath
my nose, cool air upon my face,
soothing finger breezes touching
my nape

gentleness, light, nothing
and everything
around us … if what we do
is only Be

it is Enough

Love awaits us if we allow,
our faith laid out before us

Aging an adventure with unexpected
outcomes, surprises, joys!
hidden gems buried in our subconscious

©Jennifer Cowie King 2024. All rights reserved.

--

--

Jennifer Cowie King

Writer. Essayist. Poet. Wrestling with the Muse. One word at a time. Parenting, Mental health, Poetry, Humor on occasion. jennifercowiekingwriter@gmail.com