Rap Made Me Do It

Celine Padmore
2 min readSep 8, 2015

--

From a young age I would get punished for doing or saying something my parents didnt approve of such as talking back or being disrespectful etc. My parents who never liked rap, blamed the type of music I liked to the way I acted saying that if I wouldn’t listen to so much rap then i wouldn’t be so disrespectful. Growing up I realized it wasnt just my parents who thought this but soceity as a whole blaming rap music as the reason for the growth of violence, gangs, and drug use within communities with a heavy Hip-Hop influence.

Rapper Ice Cube uses the song Gangsta Rap Made Me Do It to address his stand point on the issue while mocking the idea that Gangsta rap is the reason for everything bad that happens in society. Throught his song Ice Cube uses extreme rehtorical situations such as shooting up a school and selling crack to point out that rap music is not at fault and depending on the situation could happen to anyone.

If I sell a little crack ain’t nothin to it gangsta rap made me do it, If I die in Iraq, aint nothin to it gangsta rap made me do it

Ice cube is using these extreme examples to show that things such as selling crack and joining the army are decisions that people make on their own regardless of the type of music you listen to and he also states the fact that socitey uses rap as a scapegoat blaming rap for the goverments lack of control in less privileged neighborhoods.

I keep it gangsta and why should I change that fuck you old motherfuckers tryna change rap

Ice cube feels that nothing is wrong with rap, that society needs to learn how to accept the culture of rap as a way for rappers to express themeselves using their own self experience not just rapping about drugs and gangs but also about how such things made them who they are.

--

--