Animated Poster

Caroline
3 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

We were tasked with creating an animated poster with the subject being climate change. This was a particularly challenging project for many reasons. I took this project in many different directions, but was never completely satisfied with the results. I kept going back to the drawing board in hope that my next idea would turn out better.

My first step was to mind map some ideas for possible routes. This is a common practice I do as it helps me visualize the thoughts running through my head. I sketched out a couple options, then story boarded my favorite concepts.

I animated the poster on the right, however, it felt plane to me. I started playing around with out to make it more interesting. I decided to try a melting sensation. I thought it might be compelling to see the world melt into the hands of Mother Nature. I thought it would be intriguing to catch the audiences attention.

My thought was to create a solely animated poster so it would match my other work in my portfolio. However, I was pushed to go with a physical design so I pivoted. I wanted to push myself to do something interesting and exciting. The first couple iterations definitely did not feel like that. So, I began ideating again. I had the idea of spray painting a subject and using a stop motion video to create movement. Below are a few of the initial sketches.

I ran into a few technical problems with this idea. For one, my scale was way off and getting the paint to do what I had envisioned was a whole other story. I had to keep it small which kind of ruined the effect. The globe also did not come out as planned, so I had to improvise.

I still was not happy with how this animation turned out. So I decided to keep drawing. I decided to focus more on typography and use the type to make an image. Below are a few of the final iterations.

Throughout this three week spand, I drew over 40 images and animated 4 of them. Each animation had multiple many frames that needed manual manipulation. This project did not go smooth and was super stressful in the end, but I am happy with how this final design came out. Below is a video of it animated, and a mock up of it out in the world.

--

--