Just Another Story of a Creative Being Asked to Work for Free

For 7 years in London, I had a business teaching crafts — knitting, crochet, and embroidery. When I first started the business, I took every opportunity that was offered to me, paid or not. I needed the exposure; I needed to build my brand. Eventually, I became successful enough to stop taking the no-pay gigs. But of course they were still offered to me, on almost a daily basis. Each of them assured me that while I wouldn’t be paid, I’d be rewarded with “exposure”, that nebulous, not-guaranteed form of payment that up-and-comers are willing to work for.

Catherine Hirst
4 min readMay 11, 2015

Of course, the problem is that there are always new up-and-comers. There are always new people trying to build a brand, so there will always be people who are desperate enough to trade their hard-earned skills for the CHANCE that they might get some reward. And the people who prey on those up-and-comers know this.

This happens in all creative fields, but it’s particularly galling in the craft world, a sector that is already fighting against the perception of being a “little woman’s hobby”. The last thing the craft culture needs is another way for people to minimise and discount what we do.

Anyway, I closed my business two years ago and left London last year, so I haven’t had much of a dog in this fight lately. But then today I received an email from an event management company in London for whom I’ve done teaching work in the past. These previous events weren’t unpaid, but they were barely paid. It was for a very, very large craft expo in the UK, an event that rakes in a whole lot of money from visitors coming from all over the UK and the world. I was paid a few quid for each person who signed up for my workshops. I had to provide my own materials and transport to get there, so the money I made basically covered my costs. But I did it for a few years, for (sing it with me if you know the words) the EXPOSURE.

This new email reads as follows:

Hi all, the above fair is being organised by xxx and will have two workshop rooms […]. They (xxx) have asked me if I know of any possible tutors who would like to be part of this prestigious and special show and run a workshop or two.

As you can see from the attached blurb and proposal form — they are looking for a completely diverse range of workshops and indeed, want to offer a different programme each day.

Please note — there is NO remuneration for these workshops as they are seen as a way to promote yourself and your products. You will also be expected to provide the materials needed for the participants to make whatever it is you are teaching. If you are in the area, or are taking a stand, it is a good way to reach a new audience.

If you are interested, please do complete the form and send it back to me first[…]

All the best,

xxx

So. Not only are the instructors not being paid, but they are being asked to use their own money to buy materials for this gig, as well as arranging for their own transport. To be clear, this is NOT a charity event. This is a very large fair being organised by a professional event management company, who is most certainly being paid for their efforts. And the centrepiece of the show, the workshops for which most people will come (and pay £17 each on the door), is going to be run by trained, skilled professionals who maybe have a new book out or something to promote, and will accept this shoddy, disgraceful mess of an “opportunity” because they feel they have to.

And that pisses me off.

I’m posting this because I want people to know that this still happens, despite the very many recent high-profile examples of creatives turning around and basically saying “F- you, pay me”. But I’m mostly posting it for those up-and-comers who are still at a point in their careers where they feel they must accept these gigs. I was one of you, so no judgment here. But the minute you can, please stop. We won’t be able to stop companies preying on the weak until we can stand strong together. Craft creatives are people working alone in their houses, making things or teaching one-to-one private lessons. We aren’t unionised. We don’t have collective bargaining power. The only thing we can do is say “No” to working for free whenever we possibly can. I want us to value ourselves and our skills. I want us to believe that it really is a “REAL JOB”. And make other people believe it too. By insisting on GETTING PAID.

--

--