I talk to Russians every day and here’s what they say.

Craig McVicker
5 min readMar 14, 2024

As an online English teacher, I have classes every single day with students from all around the world. Most are Russian.

Let’s get this out of the way: 1) I’m against the war 2) I made a conscious decision NOT to turn Russian students away.

In this post, I’ll tell you real examples of what these students said and did after the invasion.

The #1 Question Russians ask me- “What do they think of us?”

Background- Since I came home from living in Colombia in 2019, I started getting Eastern European students due to the timezone. Russia, with its 150 million population, was a big clientele for me (As was Ukraine and Belarus).

At this time (2019), I was helping many prepare for their English proficiency exams to emigrate. They were either worried about their futures or sick of their government.

On the day of the 2022 invasion (24th February), I had 4 Russian students: 1 living in Finland and 3 who were already doing their exams in order to immigrate.

I’ll tell you exactly what some of my students reactions were.

--

--

Craig McVicker

Online Teacher, Course creator 📽 Writer 💻 & Culture observer. Other interests: Investing, Tech, Football, UFC