How to Ace Amazon’s PM Interview: A Bar Raiser’s Advice

Getting hired at Amazon is within your reach with the right mindset. If you practice the leadership principles, and apply the four step process for a great interview you can do it!

Crawl, Walk, Run
9 min readJun 8, 2020
Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

Amazon has an incredibly high hiring bar for all roles across the company. I saw this first hand when I went through the interview process myself and then helped the company hire as they scaled from a few thousand to over 600,000 employees. Over my 12 years at the company, I interviewed hundreds of candidates across a wide variety of roles for teams in every conceivable business at Amazon. As I gained experience and respect across the company, I earned a nomination as a bar raiser. Over time, I interviewed engineers, scientists, product managers, program managers, technical program managers, operations managers, customer support managers, directors, and countless other roles.

It was a fantastic learning experience, and I’d like to share what I learned with you. While the ideas I will discuss here are great for interview preparation for a job at Amazon, they are also just great principles for effective interviewing at any role.

4 Elements of Hiring at Amazon

--

--

Crawl, Walk, Run

Authentic lessons from senior executives at Amazon and other technology companies. https://www.crawlwalkrun.life