How to Get Paid What You Deserve: A $411,000 Case Study

Learning how to negotiate will help you earn a fair wage and pay dividends in many parts of your life. Here is my story about what I learned along the way.

Crawl, Walk, Run
11 min readMay 17, 2020
Photo by Micheile Henderson on Unsplash

I recently decided I wanted to find a job better suited to my long term learning goals. One morning I woke up to a LinkedIn message from an old boss who asked if I was interested in something new. I decided to interview for the job and got an offer to join. After receiving my initial offer, I wanted to make sure that I was getting fair compensation for what I will be doing. I looked for advice online on how to negotiate an appropriate compensation package but found that real-world case studies were missing. I thought it might be helpful if I shared my experience negotiating the right deal for myself. There is a lot to consider when thinking about a new employer, which I won’t discuss here and instead focus on only my compensation negotiation process. I’ve obscured the names of the employers presented as Current Employer Corp. and New Employer Corp. I remain anonymous, but all the offer terms and compensation numbers are real.

Compensation is different for people in various industries, and stages of their careers and so here are a few things about me:

--

--

Crawl, Walk, Run

Authentic lessons from senior executives at Amazon and other technology companies. https://www.crawlwalkrun.life