The Captain’s Assistant

David Garcia
5 min readFeb 3, 2020

--

At REX, we are always thinking about home automation, and specifically assistants. It’s the future for how people will interact with computers, so we’re thinking about ways to integrate people’s homes with this tech. After evaluating a ton of options we thought, let’s try to put Google Assistant in something, like a piece of furniture. A chair came to mind, but then we had a better idea. What if we were to integrate google assistant into a specific chair, a captain’s chair. Kirk’s chair.

The Captain

Searching around online, I found a bunch of pictures, but not much in the way of plans or sizes. Eventually I did find some plans online. But they were very focused on making a cradle for a chair rather than a full chair. This gave me the basic plans to know some sizes, and I was able to alter the plans as I went along to make a full chair, and one which will be able to swivel and move.

The sides and bottom (and a glimpse of the plans)
more sides

Once I had the basic pieces laid out, it was pretty straightforward to put them together. Add glue, screws, and start to put them together. I used 3/4 plywood for the base to make it as strong as possible.

Starting to put together
Combining together and closing up.

With some magic of glue and clamps, I was able to bring it all together.

The base turned out to be a lot harder to construct than the chair itself. It had to be strong. Strong enough to support a person standing on it. So i took what was in the plans, and altered it so it was the thickness of a 2x4. Then underneath make the 2x4s cross to build out a strong skeleton.

Top of base cut out
Bottom Box constructed

Because it’s a chair, and Kirk likes to turn around and be able to look at Spock, Uhura, I wanted to make sure that the chair actually swivels. No reason to remake the wheel, so I used an off the shelf chair swivel. I also ran a wire through the base because I knew I’d want lights on one of the arms, and the other arm would probably have the majority of the electronics.

The chair swivel I used

Base + swivel chair + Chair

For the paint, I looked around for options and ended up just going to Home Depot, and grabbing the color that matched it the closest.

Paint Job!

After that, it was a simple construction of the seats. I used cushion foam, and a vinyl fabric to mimic whats seen on screen. Used a staple gun to stretch the fabric around the foam and attach them to a wood backing.

Chair Seat Foam

Fabric for the Seat

Foam, with a wood backing

Then a combining it all together.

Construction completed

The final step was the arm rests, which I made out of cherry, cut to fit and following along the top.

Now comes the fun part. THE CONTROLS.

The first was the switches on the top. It turned out finding switches was surprisingly hard. I found some, and got some Enamel paints, and made the different colors used.

Switches

Paints I used

For the custom plastic components, I used a bunch of 3d prints to make the lights, and the buttons.

View into Cura of the dome lights

Thingiverse had a bunch of models that were ready made!

The Buttons

The Dome Lights

The Intercom

One trick I learned was to set the infill of the lights to 0%, and slightly increasing the thickness of the sides. This allows the light to filter through plastic better.

The final step was hooking up the buttons to the Google Assistant. After some research, hooking up a raspberry pi to Google Assistant is fairly straightforward.

Google has a great walk through about this:

Within the Google SDK there’s a sample called push_to_talk.py. This is what I based the whole implementation on. Hooking that up to one of the buttons, and the raspberry pi was pretty easy.

Then just hook the raspberry pi to a custom action.

Then add a microphone.

The Microphone

Once we had the code done, it was time to hook everything together.

The crazy wires, For the record, I did bundle them after this was taken

After hooking it all up, it has some fun commands:

“Red Alert”

More Power to the Engines”

KAAAAAAHHHHHN”

Yellow Alert”

Beam me up”

But because its a Raspberry Pi, we’ll constantly be adding to it. Some additions for the future:

“Status Report” — Will report out REX’s top level metrics

“Engage” — Launch a feature of REX.

The Finished Project
REX’s CTO Andy Barkett issuing commands

Since its google assistant you can ask all the normal things, like what the weather is, or travel time. It’s your Captain’s Assistant.

--

--

David Garcia

Maker, SVP of Product Engineering and Innovation at REX.