Please Call Us Middle North Americans

Crazy Person™️
4 min readDec 2, 2022

--

Because there is more than the United States in The Americas.

Photo created by Crazy Person

I run into the word ‘Americans’ quite often when I read. It always refers to anyone living in the United States. Americans.

But I’ve never seen it used to refer to anyone from any other American Country. Only the United States. I get it. People talk about us a lot. It’s good to have an easy roll-off-the-tongue word with the ability to flow well in a sentence.

According to the World Population Review there are…1…2…3…23 different countries in North America and, 12 countries in South America. For those who are bad at math, like I am, that is 35 different countries, within the boundaries, of The Americas.

Thus every individual who lives in those countries, are Americans. Canadians are American. Brazilians are American. Argentinians are American. Mexicans are American.

It begs the question: why are only Americans thought to be Americans? No one else thinks it’s a little over the top for only one country to claim the nationality of both continents? Is it me?

I know South Americans are South Americans, but rarely do I see it. But I’ve never seen anyone use North Americans.

Only Americans.

European refers to anyone from a European country, not only the United Kingdom — Or France — Or Spain! So why are Americans the only Americans?

Is it because the United States is a medley of nationalities? So the world tries to give us one, by calling us Americans?

We don’t identify as Americans to each other — the same way I would assume Europeans wouldn’t. But I could be wrong.

In the United States we know anyone, could be from anywhere.

If someone doesn’t have an accent, actually, even if there’s an accent we will still ask, “where are you from?”

It’s normal.

But no one answers, “I’m an American.”

No one says “I’m a United Statesian” either.

It sounds stupid and, people would assume anyone who did, was from Mississippi or Arkansa.

Our small talk places people in uncomfortable situations. Everyone knows, there is no standard way to answer the question. This is especially true for white people. Asking us about ourselves, is like playing the lottery, for both parties.

In reality, we don’t care about anyone’s nationality, we want to know what state you’re from. And yes, we always assume you’re from somewhere within the United States. Or at least we use to.

We’ll either answer with our home state, family nationality or our 23-and-me results.

Where are you from? Or What are you?

White people never thought this was racist. We ask everyone, including other white people, the same way. It was never specific to any color. It was for everyone. But I get it. It’s a fucking stupid way to ask the question.

“Oh I’m 60% German, 30% French and about 10% Sequoia Indian”

“No I mean what state are you from?”

And when things get cleared up, we make it complicated.

“Washington…”

“Oh nice, my neigh…”

“Well, I lived in washington for the last 30 years, but I was born in New York. At least that’s what my birth certificate says, but my social starts with 534, which means I’m also from washington.”

As if that person cares about how confused we are, about our own life story. Even if we make it simple and answer with our home state. Odds are, we get that one asshole who wants to know our nationality. So, lottery.

To each other, we are not Americans, but to everyone else, we are Americans.

I can get behind how easy it is to refer to us all as the same people. But I still think it’s fucked up to anyone who living non-U.S. American country. Its not their fault the U.S. is always having an identity crisis.

So next time you want to talk about an American remember; not all Americans are from the United States. They aren’t all ignorant. They aren’t all superficial. They’re not all rich, or snooty or even speak english. They even have their own American country.

And for now on, please refer to Americans as Middle North Americans. it’s a bit more to say, but I kept usability in mind.

In the end, it still rolls off the tongue nice enough.

And I have a feeling no one will need a detailed explanation for the change.

--

--

Crazy Person™️

I’m never talking about you but I am always talking to you.