Value Added Monday: Purple Cow

Garpou Brown
3 min readApr 17, 2017

--

A little over 4 years ago I started an online fitness gear and apparel business with no prior sales or marketing experience.

In hopes to spruce up my business/marketing plan, I searched “top marketing books” on Amazon. A couple of days later and with free shipping (I’m a prime member), I received a small purple book written by Seth Godin, called Purple Cow. That book would ultimately kick start my passion for connecting people with product.

I liked the book so much that 2years later as I was visiting my wife at a festival her company was set up at, I met a man that had very distinctive paintings of colorful animals. Upon looking through his collection, I could not find a painting of a cow, in which I thought would be the perfect painting for my office. I asked the gentleman if he would be interested in painting this concept for me. He told me to e-mail him some images and ideas, and he would let me know.

Well after about 4–5 months of hearing nothing from this artist, his e-mail popped up into my inbox with the purple cow painting attached. I was ecstatic and couldn’t wait to order the picture. He sent me the link to place order and to my surprise, $449 was the price tag. Ouch.

Let me remind you I’m only 2 years into my online business as an entrepreneur. I’m pretty confident I didn’t even have that much in my savings at the time, so I had to kindly, and reluctantly pass.

I was pretty bummed about the situation but something awesome happened a couple of weeks ago when I went to visit my wife at the very same festival. Ironically, she was set up right next to the same painter who had several paintings of “my cow” I was so proud of. I told my mother-in-law about the story and like the Curious George she is, went to investigate the booth further.

After asking about the painting, the man points to canvas copies of the painting which are $55 and look pretty much identical to the untrained eye(mine).

My mother in law breaks out the $55 cash and buys me this painting that I’ve longed for.

Now, the cow sits randomly on my wall getting confused looks from each new person who walks in. Some might think this belongs in a kitchen, but I don’t have to worry about what some think. This cow symbolizes the art of standing out and being different from the herd, no matter the difficulties you may face. If your values align on a daily basis then be purple and be proud. Life is far too short to blend end with the herd.

Do you have something that symbolizes your cause, fight, purpose, or values that you look at on a daily basis? Let me know!

Big Love,

Zach

To receive my weekly blog updates via e-mail sign up here.

--

--

Garpou Brown

“He must increase, but I must decrease.” -John 3:30