I visited real life locations from Kimi no Na wa. — seichi junrei (Tokyo side)

Crean
3 min readAug 9, 2017

Since I’m currently in Tokyo and I love Kimi no Na wa, I decided to go for a walk around Shinjuku, Yoyogi and Shibuya. 26,000 steps (about 20km) resulted in the following photos I took along the way.

Yunika vision in Shinjuku. For the correct angle I’d have to fly a drone but they’re probably not allowed here anyway.

I started at Shinjuku station. From there the next stops on the loop are Yoyogi, Harajuku and Shibuya. East from these stations is the Shinjuku Gyoen park with Sendagaya station (where adult Mitsuha starts her run), on the opposite side is Taki’s cafe (La Boheme), going east we can find the staircase. Further east is Yotsuya station (where Taki meets Okudera for their date), they walk south towards Akasaka, going back through Aoyama and turning north is Shinanomachi station and the overpass where Taki and Mitsuha call each other. Returning south is Meiji Jingu Gaien park with the Meiji Memorial Gallery building visible on Taki’s commuting route.

Crossing in Shinjuku from the opening. To get the correct angle I’d have to take the picture from the road. This is the place with that famous LOVE statue you see in J-drama.
Taki’s commuting route.
On the way to Suga shrine.
Mailbox on the way to Suga shrine.
Some traffic signs on the way to Suga shrine.
Almost at the Suga shrine.
On the stairs.
Looking down from almost the top of the stairs.
Top of the stairs.
Taki arrives exhausted to pick up his date at Yotsuya station.
Taki looks for his date.
Taki meets his date.
Yes- No, I just got here.
Their second date when grown-up. I really wanted to get the manhole in the pic to show that that’s really there.
They walk under a highway.
And over a bridge.
The number you’ve dialed is not available at the moment… There were too many people walking over and I didn’t wanna wait too long for a good shutter chance.
Taki’s commuting route.

This is all I have for now. No promises but I might go to lake Suwa and around Hida for some shots of Mitsuha’s town. If you’re going to comment, please don’t write anything that would spoil the movie.

--

--