Creating Through Emotion

CreativiSteve
4 min readJan 29, 2020

--

Many times we are confronted with the image of the struggling artist, battling emotion and pain in front of a canvas. Delving deep into self reflection to defeat the demons that occupy his or her mind and laying it all out. The vulnerability, the hurt, the essence of the human condition. How does somebody get themselves to that point? How does one tap into such deep raw emotion and come out of it alive?

In reality, that is a rare occasion where an artist is actually overwhelmed by emotion. The human mind and body cannot sustain that on a daily basis. What is actually happening is that we tap into our current emotional state. What are you feeling right now? Use that. Perhaps it will be different tomorrow, use that as well. If you become overwhelmed with rage, use it. If you are in an existential funk with no feeling at all, use that too! The real trick is that if you are creating every single day regardless of your emotional state you will eventually hit the entire spectrum of human emotion.

It is an exploration of our will to create within the emotions that we are currently feeling. As an artist, we must create even when we do not feel like it. It is a necessity to live. Once the creative journey has begun it cannot be put back to the beginning. We must face up not to the canvas but ourselves. We must accept that our current emotional state is not us but a symptom of the human condition. It is actually quite freeing once you can break past that barrier. Creating becomes a part of how to live rather than just something you do for fun or on occasion. It is a complete lifestyle. Now, that is not to say that it is always a battle with the universe as we create. Most times it is a much more invigorating experience. Falling into the natural flow of creation. Getting in touch with the present moment. Not disconnecting from the rest of the world but feeling a deeper connection with everyone past, present, and future.

I like to think back thousands of years to when humans were first starting to create art. Especially in a world with no technology. Just man and clay, or man and blood. The rituals and the clothing. Why did they do it? Why can we find these artifacts showing the creation of art 40,000 years ago? It is within us. The creative flow has always existed and always will. Our job is to catch the wave and ride it. There is no perfect place to start. There is no perfect location. No moment where things will be just right. This is because it is always the right time. Every location is perfect. Any medium that you have at the ready is the one to use. I began my artistic journey with music, but it wasn’t until I discovered painting that I truly started to feel an understanding for it as well. As I played more music, I became more in tune with my painting. The creative flow is one and the same. The process is to let go and give in to the moment. This, I feel, is the hardest part for most people. Surrendering control to whatever may come. The result may be hideous, but all that matters is that it is honest.

I will always, and I mean ALWAYS, remind myself that honesty in the act of art is the most important aspect of creation. This struck me as interesting when I finally reached the point of letting go with my art. I realized that the wall I kept banging my head against was one I created myself! My thoughts were telling me that it mattered if it was good or not but that is not what’s important. Focusing on the creative act and how it makes us feel is priority number one. We get to enjoy the process, not control it. What fun would it be to ride a rollercoaster that you also had to control? It would be pointless. The thrill of letting go to a power bigger than myself is what I strive towards in my artwork. The act of art allows us to feel that power flow within and through us. Time and energy. That is all it takes to get started. So, get out there or stay in or whatever and start right now!

--

--