The Day I Quit Social Media and Other Big Decisions

CreatorsKlub
6 min readJun 18, 2024

--

Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

I have always been a person who loves solitude. Don’t get me wrong, I love being around people, but I also need moments of introspection. This balance has kept me balanced throughout my years as a data analyst at a booming technology company. It was an ordinary September morning when I made a decision that would change my life forever.

I worked in an office overlooking the city center. The hustle and bustle of the city was a constant soundtrack throughout my days. However, my work environment was not as noisy as the city itself.

I worked at the company for eight years and for three years was involved in a gigantic project: the implementation of an artificial intelligence system that can predict the development of social networks. The work ethic was well known among my colleagues. But behind this facade of commitment was a growing discontent. The weight of algorithms and lines of code became more and more unbearable.

One morning, while sorting through an inbox full of emails, I noticed an article my partner and friend David had shared titled “Goodbye, Social Media.” It could be over in twenty years. The title immediately caught my attention. David was aware of my growing aversion to social media and perhaps this article was his subtle way of giving me a way out.

I read the article with enthusiasm and when I finished, I felt a wave of clarity. Social media, once a means of connecting with friends and family, has become a quagmire of negativity and insane competition. The pressure to portray a perfect life and the constant comparison wore me down emotionally. I knew I needed drastic changes.

Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

I met David for lunch in the company cafeteria. “I read the article you sent me,” I said as I sat down next to him.

“I knew you’d be interested,” he replied with a smile. “What are you going to do?”

“I don’t know yet. But something has to change.”

At that moment, my boss Clara approached our table. Clara was known for her ability to anticipate and solve problems before they got out of control. However, she also had a special ability to motivate her team. “Can I be with you?” she asked smiling.

I nodded and she sat down. “I was thinking about our artificial intelligence project,” she said, looking at David and me. “I think we need a new perspective” Someone who understands technology but also has a humanistic view.

“What’s on your mind?” I asked curiously.

“I want you to take a break from social media,” Clara said. “Not only personally but also professionally we need someone to evaluate our project from the outside and I think you are the right person.”

Photo by bady abbas on Unsplash

Clara’s suggestion was tempting. The idea of ​​getting off social media both personally and professionally was just what I needed. I accepted his suggestion without hesitation.

The following week my “digital exile” began. The first thing I did was deactivate my social media accounts. The feeling was liberating. Without the constant pressure to track every notification, I felt like I could finally breathe.

The second step was to reset my work. Instead of delving into algorithms and data analysis, Clara tasked me with observing and documenting human behavior in the absence of social media. It was a radical experiment, but she believed in my ability to adapt to it.

I settled in a small cabin on the outskirts of town, away from noise and distractions. I spent my days reading, writing and observing the world around me. Nature has become my new social network. The trees, the river and the animals were my new friends.

During this time I reflected on my life and my decisions. I remembered the smartest person I’ve ever worked with, a mentor who taught me something valuable: the importance of work-life balance. Her advice had fallen on deaf ears then, but now it rang with shocking clarity.

One afternoon, while walking in the woods, he found an old notebook in an abandoned house. It was filled with the insights and ideas of the people who lived there. On that page, I found words that stuck with me. “After all, what is a good salary?” For years I wanted a higher salary. Because I thought it would bring me happiness. But now he realizes that true wealth lies in inner peace and balance.

A month later I returned to the city and went back to work. Clara-san welcomed me with a smile. “How did you know?”

“You changed my life,” I replied honestly. “I began to understand what was important.”

Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

With a new perspective, I began to detail my experience. I called it “refugee refugees” using the metaphor of a journey from the digital world to separation. In this report, I proposed a fundamental shift in AI strategy that focused on user safety rather than business interests.

My report created an uproar within the organization. While some see profitability as a threat, Clara defends it fiercely. “Stability and security is the future,” he said at the meeting.

A few months later, we launched a new platform to promote positive interactions and reduce social anxiety. The results were amazing. Users report high levels of satisfaction and safety. Our AI projects have become a means of social welfare rather than a source of profit.

My own trip also left unforgettable memories. I lived a simple, balanced lifestyle. I became a digital safety advocate and started giving talks about the importance of disconnecting in order to reconnect with ourselves.

But this separation gave me a strange contradiction. Beyond social media, I discovered the true potential of artificial intelligence to improve my life. I started using assistant AI to manage my daily tasks, from organizing my schedule to meal planning. I rely on AI tools to learn new skills, explore hobbies and keep track of data without worrying about data overload.

I introduced automation into my home using smart appliances. The AI ​​can now adjust the temperature, darken the room depending on your mood, and play soothing music when you need it. I’ve launched an AI assistant that creates a healthy balance between work and rest by reminding you to take stretching and meditation breaks during your work day.

Thanks to AI, I was able to delegate many mundane and mundane tasks and focus on what I really love. Without the pressure of constant communication, I started writing more, exploring nature more and spending quality time with the people I love.

Looking back, David’s text was the catalyst for a major change. Ditching social media and rediscovering what matters has not only kept me sane, but also allowed me to contribute meaningfully to the world. Using AI as my partner has made my life richer and more balanced. Sometimes the smallest decisions can have the biggest impact, and my journey through digital disconnection has proven to be the key to reconnecting with the essence of life.

--

--