Period Panties: Do They Really Work?

Crop Tops & Kale
4 min readFeb 15, 2017

--

Do period panties really work?

Okay ladies now let’s get [in]formation. We were curious, do period panties really work?

(If you’re one of our approximately 4 male readers, perhaps you’ll want to skip this one.)

We’re talking periods, or, more specifically, period panties.

The lovely folks over at THINX were kind enough to send me a pair to test out. And they were nothing short of magical. And not just because they were high-waisted and adorable either.

Let’s discuss.

Wait, Why Use Period Panties?

Good question. Like, why are we even talking about this?

Well, if you’re a regular here at CTK you know Bridget and I are super into getting all of the potentially toxic shit out of our lives (not to mention treading lighter on the Earth). You know, harmful chemicals in our makeup, cleaning supplies, food, and yes, feminine hygiene products too.

You see, most women use pads or tampons, right? Well, many of them have been found to contain harmful ingredients like carcinogens, reproductive toxicants, neurotoxins and irritants.

Because, of course they do. And that’s scary, as we’re putting these things right up in our lady parts. And to make matters worse, the laws regarding the disclosure of these harmful ingredients to consumers could use some updating. IMO.

[P.S. If you’d like to start avoiding harmful ingredients in your food too — and shedding some pounds while you’re at it — download The Simple Cleanse today. It’s totally free. And it totally works!]

Okay So How Do They Work?

THINX period panties ‘are made up of four bits of tech that makes ’em anti-microbial, moisture-wicking, absorbent, and leak-resistant.’

The top layer fights bacteria and wicks away the moisture into the ultra-thin, super-absorbent layer underneath. So, it’s kind of like wearing a pad, only not gross and messy at all. You basically don’t feel a thing down there. It’s all nice and clean, like nothing’s even going on.

And then the bottom layer is leak proof, so you don’t have to worry about that either. Pow!

Basically, you put on a cute pair of underwear that are a little bit thicker than your regular, ugly, cotton, period undies, and bam, coverage for up to two tampons worth in a single pair.

Do period panties work?

How Did They Feel On?

Honestly, super cute and comfy. I got the high-waisted black pair and they were lovely. Actually, come to think of it, they kind of helped to mitigate my bloat while they were at it. Win, win. But seriously, they felt totally normal.

Can They Really Hold Two Tampons Worth?

Um, yes. I tried them out on one of my heavier days, while working from home in my sweatpants, and they lasted me all day without even a hint of a problem. You have to know your cycle though, I’d assume.

How Do You Clean Them?

This part was the only, teeny, tiny, I-felt-a-bit-weird, part about them. So you can totally wash them on the cold cycle and line dry on regular laundry day, which is awesome. But, you’re supposed to soak them real quick after wearing. And since I only have one bathroom in my house, Joel got an awkward surprise that evening when he went to take a shower (oops!).

But other than that, you just wash them like normal and hang them dry. Easy, peasy. And totally reusable.

Do period panties work?

Anything Else I Should Know?

I feel like it would be great if we could make period panties a thing.

I know for me personally, I tend to use pads at home because tampons make my cramping much worse. But, leaving the house in a pad just feels way too weird. And then there’s the environmental impact of millions of women across the globe using and discarding feminine hygiene products and I think, there’s got to be a better way. Turns out, there is.

THINX period panties are the perfect solution. I plan to stock up on enough to last my entire cycle.

And sure, they’re more pricey per pair than a box of Tampax but, just think about how many dollars you’ve probably spent at this point, or will spend over a lifetime on tampons, ya know?

The best part: these panties aren’t potentially harming you and your lady parts.

What do you think? Have you tried period panties? Did you love them or hate them? Do you have any questions about them I can answer? Let me know in the comments below!

Originally published at Crop Tops & Kale.

--

--