Simple Healing Morning Tonic

Crop Tops & Kale
3 min readMar 7, 2016

--

Spring is just around the corner, folks. And with my 90-day, booze-free experiment coming to an end in just 28 days, I figured now was a good time to super-charged wellness routine. Really amp up the healthy so to speak, so I’m looking and feeling my absolute best come warmer weather (and bathing suits, amiright?)

This simple, tummy-friendly morning tonic is part of The Simple Cleanse we made for you. And I wanted to dive a little deeper into the reasons why we love it today.

My belly has been an issue my entire life. IBS some doctors have said. Food sensitivities, others have concluded. My mom thinks I’m just really sensitive and my emotions sometimes leave my tummy in knots. Whatever the case may be, it can always use some extra support. And I’m guessing yours could too.

It’s funny, there are so many things we could be doing to feel our best but, we just don’t do them, right? I think it’s because we don’t stick with them long enough to make them a habit. To put ourselves on auto-pilot so we don’t have to think about doing them anymore. ’Cause, really, we’re never going to feel like doing any of it. No, a latte someone else makes for us is way more yummy than this little, healing tonic. But it’s not going to help us reach our goals now is it?

So I’m making this one a habit. Because, like I said, once something is a habit, we’re on auto-pilot. So we really just need the motivation to stick with a healthy change long enough for it to become one. Then we’re golden.

Anyway, let me tell you a little bit more about this whole morning tonic thing that Bridget and I do.

Pictured above you see:

  • Organic Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Organic Cayenne Pepper
  • Ginger
  • Lemon
  • Probiotics from our friends over at Parsley Health
  • A random mason jar

Each morning, after waking up and brushing my teeth, I have a large glass of lukewarm water and take my probiotic.

Then I make my morning tonic.

Morning Tonic

Ingredients

1 cup hot water

1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar

1 pinch of cayenne pepper

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1, 1-inch chunk of peeled and sliced fresh ginger

Method

In a mug, combine the lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, cayenne and ginger. Pour boiling water over it. Let seep and cool for about 5 minutes. Drink.

The reason I do this is because each of those ingredients have a health and tummy-supporting benefit.

Apple Cider Vinegar | helps promote stable blood sugar (just a little bit a day diluted in water, you def don’t want to drink too much of it)

Cayenne Pepper | reduces inflammation

Ginger | along with also reducing inflammation, compounds in ginger are known to relieve gastrointestinal irritation and stimulate saliva and bile production.

Lemon | packed with antioxidants to fight free radicals and reduce inflammation, lemon also helps boost immunity and increase iron absorption

What do you think? Wanna give it a shot? Have you tried this tonic before? Leave a comment below!

And if you liked this post, or think a friend could use it, please share it on Facebook!

Oh, and if you’re looking for more simple, wellness tips, give The Simple Cleanse a try. It’s 100% free and will 100% help you feel better by the end of the week!

Originally published at Crop Tops & Kale.

--

--