Fernando Barreiros Takes on the Italian Baja Challenge

Cross-Country Rally News
3 min readJun 27, 2024

--

Fernando Barreiros will take part in the Italian Baja with co-driver Rui Manuel Pereira Antonio. The Portuguese duo has registered for the second round of the European Baja Cup in the Stock group. Cross-Country Rally News asked Fernando some questions about the upcoming event.

Have you previously competed in the Italian Baja, and what can you tell us about the characteristics of this track?

I know very little. I don’t know the race, but I’ve already spoken to some people to find out about the route. At this moment, despite having seen some videos and already having an idea, I only know that 30% of the race will be done inside a river. Otherwise, the sections will be the normal ones we are already used to.

What difficulties do you expect to encounter particularly in the Stock category?

For our type of car, I think the biggest difficulty is dealing with river crossings. The race will be complex, particularly for the stock category because this category is increasingly difficult and the FIA ​​should change some things in the regulations in order to improve the competition for Stock.

What is the goal for the race?

Above all, our main objective is to finish the race and gain the highest number of points in order to reach the final goal, which is to become champion in the FIA ​​European Cup for Cross-Country Bajas in Category T2.

What steps do you take to get ready for the race?

In addition to preparing the car, which was checked to the millimetre and in detail, the training involves physical training and we are well prepared.
I have to thank my sponsors for being with me on this project and the opportunity they give me with each passing year. The example of OLI should be highlighted, which is a multinational that turns 70 this year. I have to congratulate Engineer António Oliveira, the company’s founder. I thank the team for preparing the car and for the positive involvement they have had with this project. I would also like to thank my navigator Rui António for the excellent work he has done.

--

--