Rallye Breslau, Leg 2. Enduro: faster, harder, more difficult

Cross-Country Rally News
3 min readJun 25, 2024

--

By Stephan Wolf

The second stage of the Rallye Breslau was also held on the grounds of the military polygons around Żagań (143.34 km distance). The same fragments were used as yesterday - with sand, potholes, bumps, and complicated navigational conditions.

Robert Przybyłowski, PL (KTM 450 Replica Rally, Enduro): “The second special stage was much the same as yesterday’s, only we drove it in the opposite direction. Sometimes it seemed like we were going in circles the whole time, swapping positions with other participants on bikes and SSVs. So many competitors on the track at the same time, almost everyone was going somewhere in different directions. There’s a lot of dust.

Robert Przybyłowski

On today’s stage I had more trouble navigating than yesterday - worse to see the course, lots of different lanes where you can get lost. Sometimes I had to stop and check if I was going in the right direction. And as I said before, there was a lot of dust, it was harder to navigate. To be honest, I did not like today’s version of the special stage too much. But I finished without any serious mistakes or breakages, the bike is fine. I continue to learn about the potential of my new bike”.

Latvian trio: Jurijs Smirnovs, Salvis Bēteris, Rihards Finsters

Jurijs Smirnovs, LV (Husqvarna 701 Enduro): “This is my first start in this race. And not only in this race, but also outside Latvia. Today was as dusty and dirty as yesterday. It’s an interesting navigation here, a lot of sandy fragments - and the sand here is really, really, really hard”.

Salvis Bēteris, LV (KTM 790 Adventure R): “It’s a very interesting experience - the routes here are quite different from what we have in Latvia. The track is much more difficult than we are used to. There is a lot of soft sand, a lot of deep sand potholes. It is really difficult for heavy bikes like ours to ride on such tracks”.

Rihards Finsters

Rihards Finsters, LV (GasGas ES 700): “I’m completely free today because I crashed yesterday. It wasn’t such a big crash, just my stupid mistake. I got a collarbone injury, the race is over for me - and now I just support my friends Jurijs and Salvis.”

Saulius Klevinskas

Saulius Klevinskas, LT (Husqvarna FE450): “This is the fourth start for me at Rallye Breslau. As always, the organization here is at a high level. We have only done the prologue and two days so far, but the track is really interesting, with a variety of navigation. Our whole AgDakar school team is just great.”

Photo Credits: RBI Media, teams social media

--

--