Daily Take #18

Carlos Rousseau
2 min readMar 25, 2024

--

Today, I want to dive into the infamous “work-life balance.”

You know that old saying, “work hard, play hard.” Well, it’s something I’ve always tried to live by. Balancing the grind with some good old-fashioned fun has been a goal of mine for as long as I can remember.

But you know what? Last Friday, while I was out with some friends, something hit me: “Why am I here partying when there’s so much I could be doing to improve myself?”

It dawned on me then that achieving the perfect work-life balance might just be the unicorn of adulthood. Yet, I firmly believe it’s a quest worth embarking on.

So, what does this balance look like? Well, it’s a feeling more than anything else. Picture this: you’re out with your pals, having a blast, and instead of feeling guilty about not working, you feel like you’ve earned this moment. That’s the sweet spot we’re aiming for.

Conversely, when your balance is off, those moments of joy can be clouded by a nagging sense of guilt. That’s your cue to recalibrate, to give a little more attention to the “work” part of the equation.

You’ve got to feel like you deserve it. And you’ll only reach that point when you’re genuinely proud of who you are and don’t need to hide behind a wall of alcohol bottles.

So, go ahead, hit the town, meet new people, and revel in the things that make you happy. Just make sure you’ve put in the work to earn those moments.

Remember, it’s not about finding a perfect balance, it’s about constantly striving to find harmony between work and play.

--

--