Hector M. Ramirez
1 min readAug 24, 2016

--

Interesting journey you have taken us through. One of the things that came to my mind as I finish reading your story, is that we all come back home who we were, who we are, and who we might be.

When I have attended events like these in the past I always notice a nostalgia because I had to go back home. Home where I, my family, and community live. The place where I am my self in a place that is also its self, and we often find our selves at odds with each other. Being at events like these, or conferences, can make me feel so connected to people with whom I will only spend a couple of hours, days, or weeks with. In a way I sometimes feel like I have gotten closer to people that I may never see in contrast to folks I see every day and have no sense of connection with. Then again, this is where the person who I may want to be develops. Not only does your story remind me of inclusion among folks we feel a connection with, but also of the importance of connecting with those back where we come from.

--

--

Hector M. Ramirez

Policy Wonk focusing on issues affecting people, families & communities w/ disabilities. #DisabilityRights are #HumanRights