Opiria & PDATA — If it’s free, you become the product (I)

Crypto Lee
2 min readApr 15, 2018

This will not be your usual ICO review.

This is a topic I was thinking about A LOT way before I came across this ICO. and based on the fact that I have an outlet for my thoughts now (in form of my two blogs) I will for sure take my chance to share some basic thoughts about the current data situation.

This will be a five article long review about Opiria & PDATA which I will write as a single article and post it over the span of three days. This is an important topic to address and it’s even better that a blockchain based project is taking the problem straight on and aims for a solution for it.

Let’s talk about data

Alright, before the first people cry out why this title is misleading, let me explain why I chose it:

If you’re reading this, you will most likely have some sort of social media accounts. Even though the definition varies a lot, the web as we know it today can be seen as one big social media entity. Back in the MySpace days people used to exchange their thoughts on there. Today you can do it anywhere. Comment functions, direct messages on various platforms — everything’s built for you to interact with other people.

Often times these services want you to share some data with them, as your age, what’s your profession, where you came from. You know, just the basic information a user profile on various sites requires these days. By now, you have combined parts of your identity to a single block of information which just got thrown in the never forgetting digital black hole called:

“The Internet”

By now, your data is drifting around aimlessly, getting collected by all kinds of different crawlers and platforms that will monetize it in one way or another. But that’s not all of if, those platforms are too smart to stop now.

(II)

Official Opiria sources: Website, BTN/ANN threads & Telegram

--

--

Crypto Lee

Entrepreneur in the Morning, E-Business Expert during the day, ICO Researcher by Night; Long-term success > short-term gratification