Memories or Imagination?

Cryst
3 min readAug 12, 2022

--

Photo by José Martín Ramírez Carrasco on Unsplash

Bright moon shining through window, I looked out as I waited. Moments later, the software had finally been compiled and packaged successfully without error. Looking around, there’s no one else in the office. Everyone left on time, except my senior who left a moment ago after finalizing his part on another project, and catching up with the progress that I was in charge. After a brief sigh, I shook my cup of coffee then thrown it to the bin.

Being heavily caffeinated, I was trembling as I looked toward the window. Staring at the moon gave me a short moment of peace, between me and myself, eradicating the tendency to be anxious, and to rush through projects after projects. Being struck with the scarce tranquility, I closed my eye, laid back on chair, and let my mind wandered around. Shortly thereafter, I heard the hustle and bustle of a burgeoning urban. Everything seems fine until one minimal clue that seemingly it turned into daytime piqued my suspicion.

Walking down the street in the afterglow of sunset, the long unperceived warmth and enjoyment hit me, just as I had always longed for. A bookstore at the corner of the street has hooked my attention. I spent the next few hours reading books in the bookstore, sitting on the ground, just like how we did back when we were young. The nostalgia slowly intensified, wishing I could relive the reminiscence of the simple times, hassle-free. Noticing a bookshelf of old books and collection, I went and scanned through, looking if anything could rejoice me. Sure it did, there’s a whole collection of a comic series that I once enjoyed reading very much. I read the whole series in one sitting, feeling delighted.

After finishing reading, I walked out of the store and was shocked. The developing of the city unfolded in front of my eye, from what I used remember as I was young. All the tiny details poked through my memories, reminding me of more reminiscence of the good old times. The ice cream stick, the toys, the bookstore and more, as I see them progress through time, everything was gone except the bookstore. I realized that the bookstore was there all along, it was the same since I was studying. I ran back in and hugged the counterman, for all the memories his shop brought me, for maintaining the shop, for saving the books. He was probably shocked, but didn’t refuse the hug, even though it was peculiar.

I walked out the store and down the street, slowly without any rush. It was a sparse chance to appreciate the view of the street. On a bridge I stopped, looking at the river flowing under the last slight afterglow of the sunset, it was beautiful, it’s been a while since I last had the chance to leave the office before the sun setting. Looking at the moon slowly rising, I realized that I enjoyed the day, not knowing is it true or just my imagination. I bought a newspaper from the nearby convenience store and sat down on a bench beside. I’m not reading it, I’m just trying to see the date and sure there is no date on the newspaper. I laid back on the bench, fell asleep.

Then I woke up back in my office, the clock told me I was asleep for 20 minutes, but I felt like it was an astonishing day, even the best in a while. I then shook myself awake, and headed home.

--

--