Top 5 Places to Visit in Changwon, South Korea

Chelsey Schultz
6 min readMar 27, 2023

I spent over a year working in Changwon as an English as a foreign language teacher. Taking the leap to South Korea was terrifying but also one of the best decisions that I ever made. I loved the people that I met, and Changwon became my home. Thus, I want to present you with the Top 5 Places to Visit in Changwon, South Korea, with insider tips from other expats like me!

Changwon Cafe Street

By Enzo Forgiarini

“Changwon Cafe Street, as the foreigners call it, is located just north of the large circle in Changwon. It can be found in the trendy Yongji area close to Yongji lake.

The actual address is 용지로239번길 (Yongji-ro 239 beon-gil). In Korean, Garosoo-gil means tree-lined street, and it is easy to see why when you arrive. It is lined with large Sequoia trees (for which there is a festival once a year), which give the street a lovely green, calming atmosphere. This becomes even more of a spectacle during autumn when the leaves start to change colors.

Whilst the street is an attraction on its own, there are many other places to see and visit. As the name suggests, there are plenty of cafes around to grab your drink of preference, as well as some great restaurants (Todos Mexican restaurant has the best tacos that I have eaten in Korea).

--

--

Chelsey Schultz

- Business Owner - Writer by Trade - Travel Junkie - Martial Arts Lover: Just wanting to share stories that aren't for my biz.