I’m Quitting Soul Mate Hide & Seek

Crystal Jackson
P.S. I Love You
Published in
4 min readMay 26, 2018

--

Photo by Brooke Winters on Unsplash

Finding my soul mate isn’t my problem anymore. It’s the Universe’s problem. After all, if the Universe has a perfect soul mate for me that I’m supposed to be with, then our paths are bound to cross.

Assuming one believes in soul mates, it seems that everyone has something to say about how to find one. One of the most common suggestions is to try online dating. Everyone I know has a story about someone who found true love online. And I’ve done that, online dating. I’ve gone with the paid subscription services that try to match you with someone like-minded, and I’ve tried the free apps where you swipe right or left based on little more than attraction. There are benefits and pitfalls to dating this way. While I don’t judge those who continue to look for love online, I’ve decided to take a counter-intuitive approach.

I deleted all of my online dating profiles and decided to try something that I know may be infinitely more difficult: I’m going to meet someone IRL (in real life). First of all, I should say that I’m in my mid-thirties, divorced, and with kids. My life is busy. I work for myself so meeting someone through work is highly unlikely. I’m a single mom, and I’m usually accompanied everywhere by small, active children. That makes it more complicated. Plus, I’m trying to finish a book series I’m writing and get those books published- no small feat.

--

--