My Journey at SheCodeAfrica

Blessing Akpan
3 min readMar 23, 2020

--

On a good evening while scrolling through my twitter feeds, I stumbled upon an application form from shecodeafrica, I enrolled in it, I remember not being sure if I was going to be accepted into the program, went about my daily task and was hoping I would be amongst the selected ones.

The day I got this mail, I was overwhelmed and happy inside of me that I was going to part of amazing ladies that would make something amazing in tech and I was going to learn new stuffs. I got added to the slack channels, met ladies from all works of life and I remember saying to myself “hey bcj you gat this.”:)

I registered for the backend track cause I wanted to understand more than every eyes see, I wanted to know how a site works, updates, changes and everything the user can’t see in the browser, well I could say I wanted to become a mini Magician:) I needed to understand things like security, structure, content management. The track entailed

  • Understanding NodeJS as a JavaScript engine without any frameworks
  • Creating a CRUD application with Express as a server-side/backend framework
  • Understanding MongoDB as a schema
  • Using Express with MongoDB as the Model
  • Unit Testing with Express(Mocha)
  • Final Project

I was given an amazing mentor(Tomisin Lalude) and like I call her ‘Bosslady’, I must say she was amazing, there were times I'll have blockers and I'll feel like shutting out, she was always there to give me that added push not forgetting my fellow mentees; Olamayowa Fadairo and Sandy, these ladies made it fun to learn. Every task I engaged in gave me that energy to learn more

So You Mean Your Learning Was a Smooth One?
Oh hell no!!!!

I mean there were days where I'll have a bug for days and try to fix it only to find out it was just a misspelling or omitting as little as a comma, most times after finding out the bug, I just laugh over it and move on.

Not forgetting the meet hangout we held with Ada Nduka Oyom, we were able to lay out what we’ve learnt, give out our blockers and we were given feedback to make sure we had a smooth run.

Our final project was to integrate an API with a simple UI where the user could create crud operations, my teammates were great and amazing, most especially “Oluwamayowa Fadairo”, she was the real MVP, we were able to round up the task.

Final Project Link: https://mbsshoppingapp.firebaseapp.com/

https://mbsshoppingapp.firebaseapp.com/adminControl

Lastly I want to appreciate SheCodeAfrica for the mentoring, I was able to learn at a good pace and efficiently. Looking forward to becoming a mentor at the next cohort.

--

--