I’m working on a Commodore 64 game

Carl-Henrik Skårstedt
2 min readDec 8, 2017

--

It started about a year ago, I’d made a bunch of PC tools like an assembler and a 6502 debugger and so forth, so it felt kind of pointless to just leave it at that.

At that time I had started looking in to other Commodore 64 games in development and realized people were already making awesome new games. I immediately bought a 5.25 inch disk with The Bear Essentials, super inspiring stuff!

So starting a new Commodore 64 game was clearly what I’d have to do! The idea was to find a unique game type and try to recreate it the way I’d make the game in the first place.

The game I’m working on is a tribute to a significant game from the early 80's. it is not a game I’ve played extensively. I’ve avoided looking at the original game, and I don’t remember playing it with other people. It is a four player turn based strategy game with real-time auctions and no combat. If this sounds familiar you have probably heard of M.U.L.E.!

There is plenty to say about M.U.L.E. and the people behind it, I’ll write about that another time. That is much more interesting than my game.

This is what the game looks like during a player turn, where each player gets a chance to set up their land:

So while I still have not decided on a name for the game there is something else I can share from the game very soon! In addition to that I am currently slapping together all the art by myself and there are things that could be done better by experts, and I’m working on the art tool to make it easy to replace and add art in the game.

I’m hoping to have the next piece ready by next week!

--

--