Finnegan Begin Again
3 min readNov 25, 2023

10 Me Things

I do not place stock in dreams. But they are fun, and they are fascinating. And, in my case, involve famous people.

So, every morning I go over my dream.

Of late, my two dreamy best friends are the Prince and Princess of Wales.

*******

Water. Coffee. Turmeric Tea. Wine.

That’s my liquid. No soda. No beer. And never anything sweet.

Sometimes wine takes a backseat to whisky. Currently I am on a Japanese whisky exploration. It’s a bit expensive but oh so warming to sip.

But my routine starts, middles and ends with water.

*******

Outwardly my public self is earthy and boyish, with a bedhead-who-cares vibe.

In my post-shower state, though, I’m a gentle hint of a fruity floral mist … of the apple, magnolia and sandlewood kind.

*******

I attempt a New York Times puzzle every morning. Keyword is attempt.

*******

My inbox gets an unread clean sweep, daily. Gmail has really become a lot of noise. I’d get rid of the thing but I need it for half my logins.

Unfortunately, this means periodically binning an actual message from someone I actually know. So, my apologies if you’ve not heard back from me. Next time, text.

*******

When I can find a rubber band, somewhere in my hair will be a hidden braid.

*******

Since birth, I have been aware of my Faith. But Faith was something I owned, like a disgarded box in a dusty corner.

About eight years ago I began to visit that corner. And those visits became a thing I privately did. Quietly taking the room in, I still had this feeling of being “over there” when in that space.

One day, on a drive up over a mountain, I experienced a blue-light flash that lasted less than a second and chronicled my entire life. In the depths of that flash then came from me a single admission and a single plea. Which was then followed by something that I can only describe as an all enveloping hug.

From that time, Faith is the soft comfortable fabric and shield covering my whole being.

*******

By the way, that is the first time I’ve been able to describe that mountain moment. It’s taken me four years.

See, now THIS is exactly why I write. I’ve been waiting for the right words to explain that.

Wow. What a gift.

Okay, moving on … where was I?

Right. Number 8.

*******

Every day I pause for Nature.

It could be to watch a squirrel. Or a cloud. Water flowing. A person. A spider web.

Whatever. Who cares. I’m a fan.

*******

Visine. Chapstick. Glasses. These are my daily musts.

All other things are gravy in my book.

*******

In my tiny circle, I am around nice people. And nice people are just so, well … Nice.

I leave agendas to the gameplayers, to score amongst themselves. Long since removed from that rubbish, I am free to have a lovely day, every day.

Oh sure, it doesn’t always go as planned. Sometimes nonsense gets in. And I’m bummed when it does.

But I try, and I always give it another go.

It’s just that simple, and it’s probably the part that I like most about being me.

*******

Finnegan Begin Again

I consider all my posts fiction, peppered with facts. But between us, yeah, they’re close to right on target. To be respectful, names have been changed.