Do You Embrace Change?

Carmen Tang
Adaptability In the Office
2 min readSep 25, 2017

Adaptability is a way of explaining how someone attacks change when it comes towards them. The action and response they take on can say a lot about one’s personality and their work-power. Someone who accepts and embraces the changes around them are conventionally the ones that put their trust on new ideas or disagree with recurrent strategies. They are the people who are willing to try different approaches until they find the one that fits the situation most.

According to Shirley Tan, the author of “How Well Do You Handle Change? The Benefits of Being Adaptable” believes that by learning how to be adaptable to situations,it slowly influences our attitudes in a more positive way to adjust to our daily challenges. She also believes that once one learns this skill, it would allow one to have a healthier relationship in the workplace and personal life (Tan, 2017).

I definitely agree with every bit of what Shirley Tan said within her writing piece. By being able to respond to any type of changes, it gives one the skill to calmly think without disruption and come out with solutions. Not only does this allow coworkers to keep their motivation but it also displays a sense of leadership.

As a road to training myself to improve in adaptability, I’ve been trying to do things that I wouldn’t have done before. Such as approaching people whom I never did before to meet new people, taking on roles that I never had the courage to, and exposing myself to other opportunities. This allows myself to put myself in position where I have to grasp into every concept and solve whatever comes my way. So far it has been quite hard since it’s only been the beginning but I have high hopes for the future.

Source: Tan, S. (2017, February). The Benefits of Being Adaptable. Retrieved September 24, 2017, from https://www.business.com/articles/how-well-do-you-handle-change-the-benefits-of-being-adaptable/

--

--