Summer Spotlight: Marsela Sulku

Code The Change
2 min readAug 9, 2017

--

Meet Marsela! Marsela is a rising junior at USC studying computer science and a developer for Code the Change. Read more to find out about her exciting summer in the Bay Area!

What have you been up to this summer?

I’m interning at Google in Mountain View! My project is centered around keeping Google’s Java codebase as clean and as bug-free as possible. I’ve completed various static analysis checks which detect antipatterns or probable bugs and provide a suggested fix. These checks are added to our internal code analyzer, and are run against all Java code being submitted to the codebase.

Other than working, my day-to-day consists of dogsitting my teammate’s puppy, Milo, and embarrassing myself by raising my standing desk only to get tired and sit back down 15 minutes later :’)

What’s your favorite memory so far?

I have three from this summer: waking up at 4am to go to a hot air balloon festival in Sonoma Valley, visiting NYC for the first time, and hiking at Muir Woods (so pretty!!)

What’s something new you’ve learned about yourself this summer?

I realized I actually like to do things spontaneously more than I like planning things out.

What would you say your favorite millennial indulgence is?

I love adorable doggo memes!

Tell us why you joined CTC!

I joined Code the Change because it was the perfect chance to grow technically and simultaneously give back to the community. My favorite part is the people I’ve met! Everyone’s really driven and talented, and they’ve all helped me grow either personally or technically. Also, we have bomb retreats.

Finally, what’s a fun fact about you?

I can’t fall asleep without having an episode of Friends playing in the background.

Our applications are now open! Apply here by midnight on August 31.

--

--

Code The Change

Hi! We’re Code the Change — a community of students who design and build software for non-profit organizations in Los Angeles.