New trials

Karine
2 min readJul 10, 2017

--

I become like a kid at farmers’ markets. I want to see everything. I want to eat everything. I want everything now and can’t wait another time to put my hands on them!

Last week was a typical example. I went to a farmer’s market with the idea of only buying strawberries. I should know myself much better. As soon as I stepped my feet into the area, I saw many fruits and vegetables at their prime. Raspberries, cherries, tomatoes. All of them were just so irresistible.

There were also a few I did not know. That’s when I enter the ‘danger zone’. If I don’t know what it is , that means I MUST have it, right? Yup, yup and yup. I easily convince myself that way when it comes to food. No need for any other ‘rational’ argument.

The two bounties I could not resist to try and simultaneously broke my farmer’s market budget were saskatoon berries and mulberries. And boy, I did not regret my choice.

Saskatoon berries showed up their colors right away. Right after the first bite, I got an explosion of delicious sweet juice.

Mulberries, on the other hand, aged like wine. After the first bite, I did not find they taste anything. Once I left them mature for two to three days, they became sweeter, tarter and much, much tastier.

They both won my heart.

--

--