7 Female Literary Characters To Get Inspiration From

Ash Tamgadge
8 min readMay 17, 2023

--

Photo by Thomas Kelley on Unsplash

As with any other person in their 20s, life has taken it’s toll on (dare I say?) every aspect of life. Everyone has a different way of dealing with life’s never-ending ups and downs, whether it’s going to the gym, binge-watching favourite TV shows, consuming a pint of ice cream (cough, cough!) or simply speaking with a good old buddy about life! As a reading enthusiast, my first reaction to any minor-inconvenience (guilty as charged) in life is to escape reality by turning to books.

As I was reflecting on some of the books that have had a big impact on me over the years, I realized that some of the most motivational characters I’ve come across have been women. As a kid, I always loved reading about strong, empowered women who refused to let anyone or anything hold them back — big boss-babe energy! Their experiences and tribulations have lingered with me throughout the years, and now more than ever, when I feel myself losing sight of my potential, I always visit my old friends and remind myself of their incredible determination and resilience!

I feel like I could use a little dose of their wisdom and determination to help me through this tough time. So, I decided to take a trip down memory lane and revisit some of my favourite inspirational women in literature. Join me as I dive into their stories and remember what makes them so special.

Hermione Granger, Harry Potter Series

“Books! And cleverness! There are more important things — friendship and bravery.”

I can’t possibly begin discussing inspirational women without including Ms Granger. When it comes to strong and empowered female book characters, few can match the brilliance of Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series. I loved Hermione since she declared she’d read a big book for A LITE READING!

Her intelligence, courage, and loyalty make her a beloved character to fans of all ages. I might be a kid who raised her hand every time teacher asked a question and I am not guilty of it — thanks to Hermione! She taught me how to embrace the nerd in me and still be kind, brave and humble. Her unwavering dedication to the task at hand still keeps me inspired at all times.

Anne Shirley Cuthbert, Anne of Green Gables

“Isn’t it splendid to think of all the things there are to find out about? It just makes me feel glad to be alive — it’s such an interesting world.”

If there’s any character I can relate to the most, it is Anne of Green Gables - Imaginative, creative, determined, book lover, often finds herself talking to book characters, ambitious and a little bit quirky! As a kid, I was immediately drawn to Anne’s spunky personality and her vivid imagination. Even as an adult, I still find myself constantly inspired by her resilience and her ability to find joy and beauty in the world around her.

She is fiercely intelligent and always eager to learn, often getting lost in books and her own imagination. What I love most about Anne is her unwavering optimism and her ability to see the best in people, even when they don’t deserve it. She never gives up on her dreams and never loses sight of the person she wants to be. When I’m feeling down, I usually ask myself, “How would Anne react to this situation?” It’s amazing how fictional personalities can fill you with so much warmth and motivation.

Jo March, Little Women

“I think I shall write books, and get rich and famous, that would suit me, so that’s my favourite dream.”

If I could born in 1860s America, I would love to be Jo March, even today, everyday I aspire to be her. As a kid, I was drawn to Jo’s strong-willed nature and her love of writing. Even as an adult, her perseverance and refusal to adapt to society norms continue to inspire me.

Jo is one of four sisters growing up in the America during the Civil War. She dreams of becoming a writer and often retreats to the attic to work on her stories. But Jo is more than just a talented writer — she’s also fiercely independent and deeply devoted to her family. She is not afraid to cut and sell all her hair to provide for her family during financial struggles — How courageous can you be, Jo? She’s not afraid to speak her mind or challenge the expectations of the time, even when it’s difficult or unpopular. What I love most about Jo is her resilience and her unwavering commitment to her dreams.

Laila, A Thousand Splendid Suns

Image taken from The Seattle Times

“Marriage can wait, education cannot.”

Laila from A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini is a complex and compelling character who embodies the spirit of perseverance and hope in the face of adversity. Laila is a young Afghan woman who grows up in war-torn Kabul, enduring countless tragedies and challenges throughout her life. But despite the adversity she faces, Laila remains resilient and determined to create a better future for herself and her family.

One of the things that makes Laila such a compelling character is her fierce independence and her refusal to give up in the face of hardship. Even when she’s forced into an arranged marriage with a violent and abusive husband, Laila doesn’t lose hope. Instead, she finds ways to resist and fight back, eventually finding love and happiness with another man. Her story is a constant reminder of the strength of the human spirit and the importance of never giving up on our dreams, no matter how difficult the journey may be.

Jane Eyre, Jane Eyre

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

Written by Charlotte Bronte in 1847, Jane Eyre tells the story of a young woman who overcomes poverty, abuse, and societal expectations to find love and happiness on her own terms. For me, what sets Jane apart as a character is her fierce independence and her refusal to conform to the expectations of her time. Despite being poor and orphaned, Jane is determined to make her own way in the world, and she’s not afraid to speak her mind or stand up for herself when she’s treated unfairly.

Another aspect of Jane’s character that I love the most is her moral integrity and her commitment to doing what’s right, even when it’s difficult. When she’s faced with a choice between marrying the man she loves and compromising her values, Jane chooses to follow her conscience, even if it means sacrificing her own happiness.

Perhaps most importantly, Jane is a character who finds strength and resilience in the face of adversity. She endures numerous hardships throughout the course of the novel, including abuse, rejection, and betrayal, but she never loses hope or gives up on her dreams.

Lucy Pevensie, The Chronicles of Narnia series

Image taken from Wallpaper Access

“Yes,” said Queen Lucy. “In our world too, a stable once had something inside it that was bigger than our whole world.”

I remember my primary school teacher reading us The Chronicles of Narnia in the last period of school hours. I was fascinated by Narnia’s beautiful world, but above all, I adored Lucy because she was my age and she is truly a source of light and hope in even the darkest of situations.

What sets Lucy apart as a character is her unwavering faith and her unshakeable belief in the goodness of others. Despite facing numerous obstacles and challenges throughout the course of the series, Lucy never loses her sense of wonder or her faith in the magical world of Narnia.

Perhaps most importantly, Lucy is a character who embodies the spirit of adventure and curiosity. She’s always eager to explore the world around her, even if it means facing danger or uncertainty. And she’s always willing to take a chance on others, even if they seem strange or unfamiliar at first. Her story is a timeless reminder of the power of optimism and hope, and of the importance of embracing the unknown with open arms.

Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice

Image taken from Book Riot

“Do not consider me now as an elegant female, intending to play you, but as a rational creature, speaking the truth from her heart.”

I am a fan of classic literature which makes me a bit biased towards liking Elizabeth Bennet, the beloved heroine of Jane Austen’s novel Pride and Prejudice. While reading this book, I had this irresistible urge to be just like Lizzie — a perfect blend of wit, charm, and independence and of course, I will get to be with Mr Darcy then (Blinks!).

She is not afraid to speak her mind, even if it means ruffling a few feathers along the way. This trait is particularly refreshing given the time period in which the novel is set, where women were often expected to be meek and submissive. Best part about this period story is seeing a woman who is not interested in marrying for money or status, and instead wants to marry for love and mutual respect. This is a radical idea for the time period, but it’s one that Austen champions throughout the novel.

Although she strikes as somewhat judgemental at the beginning, but through her interactions with other characters and her own experiences, she comes to understand the importance of empathy and humility.

Do any of these women inspire you in any way? Tell me in the comments below. If you liked this blog, please give it a clap! It would mean a lot to me.

Thanks, Ash xx

--

--

Ash Tamgadge

Tech girl who likes reading, writing, yoga, is severely addicted to caffeine and has no idea what is going on in her life!