When I saw Saturn, with my eye for the First Time!

Nikhil Mishra
2 min readMar 27, 2017

--

Footage of Saturn with Telescope

It’s very essential to note that it’s the experience that actually counts. I had fun star gazing, looking at the heavens, figuring out constellations, tracking planets, waking up at night, to get that perfect atmospheric condition, half slept- half awake, tinkering those knobs very carefully, with my breath hold tight. All of that, so that I can see the rings of Saturn, which is 1.2 billion kilometers away.

This is human instinct at it’s finest! It’s difficult, to contemplate the degree of emotion that it takes, while this event unfolds, the beautiful ringed yellow — planet, slightly shivering due to atmospheric aberration. I will never forget this moment when for the first time I saw planet Saturn with my naked eyes(aided).

Side by Side Comparison of Original and Stacked Photos

This experience can’t be traded off with Google images. There is something religious about working hard, just as Harry dug out Dobby’s death bed without using magic. I think in spite of being a muggle, I find that really satisfying!

Photo by Conner Baker on Unsplash

There is something religious about working hard, just as Harry dug out Dobby’s death bed without using magic. I think in spite of being muggle, I find that really satisfying!

Originally published at thecuriousnikhil.wordpress.com on March 27, 2017.

--

--