Ring Video Doorbell Pro vs. Ring Video Doorbell 2

Which one to buy?

Cory Zuccaro
4 min readAug 26, 2023

Introduction

As someone who has installed and used both the original Ring Video Doorbell Pro and the newer Pro 2 on my home, I can provide a firsthand account of how these premium smart doorbells stack up after living with each one. While the Pro served me well initially, upgrading to the Pro 2 provided noticeable improvements in areas like video quality, battery life, and connectivity.

In this review, I’ll break down what each model offers and how they compare based on my direct experience with both Pro versions. I’ll highlight the strengths and weaknesses I noticed for each, along with key factors to consider depending on your needs and budget.

Ring Video Doorbell Pro

Having had the Ring Video Doorbell Pro Wired installed on my home for over two years now, I can thoroughly review its capabilities and performance based on extended use.

The 1080p HD video provides excellent clarity for my front door area monitoring. I’m able to check in anytime with the live view and motion alerts. The microphone and speakers deliver crisp 2-way audio so I can speak to visitors.

The custom motion zones and adjustable sensitivity settings help reduce unwanted notifications while ensuring I get alerts when needed. Integrations with Alexa add convenience, letting me see the live feed on Echo Shows.

The enhanced dual-band Wi-Fi has given me a steady connection the past two years without any lag or buffering issues. Hardwiring to my existing doorbell wiring provides continuous power without worrying about batteries.

Downsides are relatively few after prolonged use. Lack of HDR imaging can make night vision grainy in extremely low light. Missing smart features like package detection provide less awareness versus higher priced models.

But for a reliable wired doorbell under $100, the Ring Pro Wired has met my essential needs for video, audio, motion alerts and connectivity over two years of daily use. The affordability and straightforward feature set make it a great entry-level option. For first-time smart doorbell buyers, I can easily recommend the Ring Pro Wired based on my long-term experience.

Ring Video Doorbell Pro 2

Here is a comparative review of the Ring Video Doorbell Pro 2 vs Pro after owning the Pro 2 for a year:

Having upgraded from the original Ring Video Doorbell Pro to the new Pro 2 , the improvements after a year of use are obvious.

The boosted 1536p video is a major upgrade, providing continuous head-to-toe coverage of my doorway and yard. The clarity makes it easy to see faces, packages, and details the old 1080p video would miss.

The 3D motion tracking also gives me a much wider detection radius, sending alerts even before someone steps onto my porch. False alerts are way down thanks to customized motion zones and sensitivity settings.

Audio quality on the Pro 2 is noticeably clearer when having two-way conversations. The noise cancellation really focuses in on voices. Integrations with Alexa products like auto video display on Echo Shows are very handy.

Just like the Pro, the Pro 2 reliably hardwires to my existing doorbell wiring for continuous power. The lack of a battery does limit placement flexibility compared to other Ring models.

While the Pro handled the basics fine, the Pro 2 smarter motion sensing, expanded video view, and crisper two-way audio provide more security awareness — easily justifying the extra cost after a year of ownership. It’s a big upgrade.

For first-time buyers, the Pro is a solid affordable option. But for existing owners seeking the latest features, the Ring Video Doorbell Pro 2 takes performance to the next level. My experience proves it’s an upgrade that’s absolutely worth it.

Conclusion

For its price, the classic Ring Video Doorbell Pro delivers solid home security fundamentals. But for those wanting the latest smart features and connectivity, the Ring Video Doorbell Pro 2 justifies its higher cost with handy upgrades like better Wi-Fi, enhanced motion sensing, and sharper 1536p video. While owners of the original Pro may be satisfied, the Pro 2 meaningfully improves the experience. If you can swing the extra expense, it’s worth it.

--

--