What I have learned as a Muslim student at a Christian College

Cynthia Gómez Pérez
3 min readSep 28, 2022

--

Liberty University School of Business
Image from Liberty University School of Business

One of the things I wanted to do as an immigrant in the United States was to attend an American University and pursue a second bachelor’s degree. It is not common to see Muslim students at religious-affiliated colleges. Despite not being my first option, I decided to go for it due to the support and encouragement I received during the admission process. Liberty University is an evangelical Christian College whose mission is to “train champions for Christ.” However, people of other faiths are also welcome.

Liberty has a strict Christian worldview, and most of its students are devoted Baptist Christians. I felt I didn’t fit in during my first weeks of studies, but after some time, I realized how amazing people were, and I believe I couldn’t have chosen a better place to achieve my educational goals. It is difficult to mention all the positive things I have learned, but these are the most relevant:

1. Remembrance of God: Every class started and ended with a prayer, which reminded me that I should always put everything I do in God’s hands first and thank Him for each small blessing.

2. Coexistence: I remember thinking my classmates and professors would judge me for being Muslim and not Christian. They turned out to be very respectful and understanding. We shared the similarities of our religions and our love for Jesus (prophet Isa in Islam). Also, the most gratifying part was correcting some misconceptions about Islam that some people at Liberty had due to what is shown in the media.

3. Life priorities: North American culture has taught me that hard work and money are the most significant achievements in one’s career. As an immigrant, I feel pressured to become successful after moving to a new country. However, Liberty’s vision helped me to understand that God is always first, and visiting God’s house every week is mandatory for a believer. Family, friends, and neighbors are always the second priority, and the third priority should be our job, studies, hobbies, etc.

4. Modesty: Liberty has a dress code to attend in-person classes. I thought it was very conservative for an American University, but it reminded me that Muslims are also responsible for upholding modesty in their attire, tongue, and eyes. Also, as a Latina woman, I realized that modesty brings me closer to people for what I am rather than for how I look.

I am beyond thankful for what God has given me regarding my education. I never imagined that a Christian college would allow me to coexist with people of other beliefs. I am not going to deny that, at times, some students and professors would try to make me “seek salvation by accepting Jesus as a savior.” However, they never judge me or get angry when I kindly deny it. I am proud of my faith, and I love talking about it. I also love my fellow Christian brothers and sisters; as for us Muslims, they are considered Ahlul Kitab (People of the book).

--

--

Cynthia Gómez Pérez

Latinx, immigrant, Muslim, and a beautiful soul! follow me on Instagram @cynthiagomezpe @lovespiritualreminders.