The New Hero Process

After years of the playing the game, I have a process that works best for me and is the most fun way for me to enjoy the new heroes

D20 Woodworking
2 min readMay 22, 2024

Yesterday we discussed new heroes and the excitement that goes with them.

The next best thing is the process you go through with all the heroes, or the process I go through I guess … but everyone has their own thing.

For me personally, I like to try the “precon” deck that comes with that hero. Almost every time, that hero precon deck isn’t great. It usually barely works and is really there to get us new, or more existing copies, of cards. I like the idea of the precon deck because it helps get people into the game. But … it’s still rough.

I will still run it though to see what a “new player” may see for the game. Then I usually switch cards around, but keeping the same aspect to build a deck that I think would work. Or aspect cards that I am “more comfortable” with that I know will work well in certain situations.

Then after that, I start messing with different aspects. The whole process usually takes a dozen playthroughs for me to get comfortable with the hero that I get a good amount of them. At this point I do my usual reviews.

While the process doesn’t show off the strongest potential for the hero, it is fun to show off the new hero live on stream or to take some inspiration from those in the community on what the next best steps for building that hero may be.

Let me know your process with a new hero, how you build things, or do things.

--

--