The Quickest Way to Write a Node.js Server and Have Some Fun

Daiwei
2 min readJun 12, 2016

--

Get started in Node.js is fun and easy enough nowadays. But setting up a Node server can still be convoluted if you just need a simple hello world type of server.

var express = require('express');
var app = express();

app.get('/', function (req, res) {
res.send('Hello World!');
});

app.listen(3000, function () {
console.log('Example app listening on port 3000!');
});

Often you need express and know which API to call on response object to send the appropriate content type. `res.send` or `res.sendStatus`, ha? Would it be much nicer if the server just return something, like a function? HTTP server is meant to be stateless and stateless reminds us of pure functions.

Just returns

// server.js
export default async function (req) {
return 'Hello, World!';
}

What if I told you this is my server, and I can run it directly and receive “Hello, World!” every time I curl it? Simple right? And since we are using async functions, async data flow can be handled with promise as well:

// server.js
export default async function (req) {
const words = await Promise.resolve('Hello, World!');
return words;
}

This is why I wrote fun-http and want to have some simple fun in Node.js.

$ npm i -g fun-http
$ fun-http server.js
$ curl -i localhost:3000

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Sun, 12 Jun 2016 22:12:41 GMT
Connection: keep-alive
Content-Length: 13

Hello, World!

Shared this if you like it. It will make me know you like my idea, so I’m motivated to make it better :)

--

--