The problem of elderly care is plaguing us all

DabriaMore
3 min readMay 20, 2024
Photo by Chris LeBoutillier on Unsplash

I’m Kat, 62 years old, and retired.

I have a daughter, Jenny, 35 years old, who works at a foreign company and has a stable life.

When Jenny got married, we gave her 100,000 as a dowry, hoping she could live a better life.

My husband and I discussed moving in with her when we got old, so we could be together as a family.

At that time, our old house was simple, but it was filled with memories of our lifetime.

We thought that when we got old, we could move in with Jenny and enjoy family happiness.

However, reality was far from what I imagined.

Four years later, my husband and I were getting weaker and our lives were getting harder.

We discussed it and decided to seek help from Jenny.

After all, she was our child, and we had given her everything.

I called Jenny: “Jenny, Mom and Dad are not doing well, we want to move in with you…”

When I asked Jenny if we could move in with her, there was a silence on the other end of the phone.

Then her voice sounded cold: “Mom, I’m busy with work and don’t have time to take care of you. I’ll send you 10,000, and you can use it for now.”

--

--