Nvidia SDE-2 Interview experience — Offer :)

hardik dadhich
5 min readApr 22, 2022

--

Hello Everyone,

Here I would like to share with you my Interview experience with Nvidia Graphics pvt. ltd. which is one of the hottest product based company and massive growth in semiconductor domain. The company is a leading manufacturer of high-end graphics processing units (GPUs).

nvidia logo

The role was about SDE-2 role more on software development engineer part.

How I got the opportunity:

I got opportunity from LinkedIn. Nvidia HR contacted me upfront for the opportunity she told me about the work and role and as I was prepared hence I requested her to schedule interview in upcoming week.

NOTE :

  1. As WFH was continue in India due to covid so all round scheduled online only.
  2. As at the time of blog writing already 3 months has passed so will try to attach exact questions as well but forgive me if I just provide hint based on my recalling power😛.
  3. All interview rounds invites were send upfront (So no elimination round). So result was announced only after my all rounds happened.

Round 1:

Round 2 :

It was also a DSA round. I have to code in the online notepad given there. The Round started with resume digging. He asked me some questions on my projects and python scripting proficiency.

I don’t recall the exact problem which he asked but it was related to print logs from where server is continuously generating logs and sending health check status. All are getting stored in one .log file . I have to write code to print those server names and logs those are not up from last 10 mins.

I have written simple python script to print name and completed task within 20 mins.
Later he asked some follow up questions and I was positive about the round.

Round 3:

It was also DSA or some sort of LLD round. There were two interview panelist in this round. they started the interview with puzzle and asked me about my projects in the current company.

Later one of the interviewer asked me to create Contact PhoneBook so I need to tell them which would be preferable Data structure will be use for that. I started with problem requirements gathering first like what features we want in our PhoneBook , searching some contact, saving contacts, save address and if a person has multiple phoneNumbers how to store them.

It was quite good discussion, happened around 20–30 mins. later he give me time to implement two of the functionalities which was about storing contacts and searching any contact with the name.

this round happened around 1 hour. I presented good sudo code and preferred data structure. Also both interviewers were very supportive and helping as well if I get stuck

Interview tip: In all mentioned round I focused on my soft skills as well like communicating well with interviewer to understand problem completely. Rephrase the problem with trying out some of the test cases so it will help both interview and me to be in sync.

Round 4:

It was also technical round. This is taken by one of the team member sitting in US. so as expected this round happened around 9:30 PM IST.

He started with digging my resume as he wanted to know more about the cloud technology which I have worked upon in my current company also as I have working experience on devOps site so that was advantage in that round in docker and Kubernetes site questions.

Then he gave me question of variation of this question ( https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/check-possible-move-given-coordinate-desired-coordinate/ ) if i can jump into another coordinate from given coordinate in matrix.
After 5 mins of discussion on approach I started writing code. I have written code in 10 mins. He ran the code on multiple test cases and given me one follow up question which was to improve space complexity in the current code.

I was quite positive as I have presented well. also he asked me about Git some commands and how that works at behinds. it was a good positive discussion.

Round 5 :

This round was taken by 2 people , One of them was hiring manager . He told me about the project they are working on. They were kind, Good and explained well me about the project they are working on. This round also took around 1 hour. Later he asked me about my projects and cloud tech stack which I am working on. He seem quite impressed with my work that i have done.

Later He asked me one problem basically to know my approach there were no code required which was about if petabytes of data coming from multiple machines on one domain how you will scale and how I will reduce bottleneck.
I gave my approach and very healthy discussion happened.

RESULT :

Well , As I was also quite positive about the interview rounds so I was excited to know result and exact 2 days later I received call from recruiter.
She told me that they are ready to give me offer based on my interview performance and it was excellent.
I was quite excited and happy to know that i really did well in interviews.

FAQs:

Interview prep tips :

  1. As part of preparation focus on communication as well. it plays significant impact.
  2. Target company wise questions to prepare well. in most of the cases it actually works

Read my another Interview experiences as well (offer ):

Amazon : https://medium.com/@dadhichhardik26/amazon-sde-2-interview-experience-offer-fbb3e4ae592c

Oracle OCI : https://medium.com/@dadhichhardik26/oracle-oci-sde-2-interview-experience-offer-f7d16b10d015

My LinkedIn profile for any queries : https://www.linkedin.com/in/hardik-dadhich-4b6003113/

--

--

hardik dadhich

Amazonian | Developer | tee-troller | Talks about Interview Experiences | Distributed designing | Cloud stack & many more