Installing Linux and Ubuntu on MacOS M1 Pro

Dafhnee J (teacher2tech)
2 min readJan 6, 2023

--

First step is to download UTM on my M1 Pro.

UTM is a QEMU-based hypervisor and emulator. This basically means that this application can run a completely different hardware inside a virtual machine which will reside inside my Macbook Pro.

After discovering that UTM can be purchased from the App store for $9.99, it did not take me too long to realize that it is also free on https://mac.getutm.app/.

Once downloaded I continued to officially installing Linux once I opened UTM from Finder.

Once UTM is installed in your M1 Pro this is what it should look like.

Now you have the option of choosing which operating system to run our VM. I will be choosing Linux and minimizing this screen for now.

My next task is to install Ubuntu 22.04 ARM64 Desktop edition on my M1 Mac. I went to the following website

https://cdimage.ubuntu.com/jammy/dail... Where I installed Ubuntu 22.04 ARM64 and dragged it onto my desktop as a ISO image. This step might take a little longer because the file is so large, it took mine about 4 minutes to completely load.

Once that was installed I clicked on Linux and I was on my way to create a virtual machine.

Issues I faced and Solutions

One of the issues I faced when installing Ubuntu and running it on Linux was that my Firefox browser was not working. I ended up struggling for a good hour and two breaks later …I tried this:

  1. Log out from Ubuntu VM.
  2. Tap on my username on this log in screen.( by this point I had even figured out how to make another username)
  3. I looked for a gears icon that usually signifies that you can change something about the settings. This was at the bottom right.
  4. Chose Ubuntu XOrg and then signed in.
  5. Opened Firefox and it WORKED!

Check out my newly installed Linux!

Now I am going to be learning basic commands

--

--

Dafhnee J (teacher2tech)

High school science teacher→ DevOp's Engineer + Digital Creator